Skip to main content

Wolf Gone Wild (Stay A Spell #1) by Juliette Cross [arc review]

Wolf Gone Wild, Juliette Cross
Will I ever not like a Juliette Cross book? No, no I won't! 
Wolf Gone Wild was the perfect mixture of shifter glory, humor and sexiness. 
Yes, 'shifter glory' is a thing. Go with it! 

I suppose I should give you all the Blurb before I start gashing over it, so here it is:

What's the worst thing that can happen to a werewolf? Unable to shift for three months, Mateo Cruz knows all too well. His wolf has taken up residence in his head, taunting him night and day with vividly violent and carnal thoughts. Convinced he's cursed, he needs the help of a powerful witch before he literally goes insane.

​Evie Savoie has always obeyed the house rules of her coven--no werewolves. They're known for being moody and volatile. So, when a distempered, dangerous werewolf strolls into the bar and almost strangles one of her late-night customers, she's ready to bounce him through the door. But the desperation in his eyes when he begs her to help him softens her heart and convinces her to bend the rules.

​What Evie doesn't know is that Mateo's wolf has a mind of his own. And now that she's in his sights, he wants only one thing. Her.

The Review: 4.5 Stars

Evie and Mateo were absolutely adorable together. They had my heart from beginning to end.
Evie is a quirky, geeky, and good hearted witch that can't say no to those who need. I loved all the wonderful geeky references Juliette added to the book. It doesn't matter if you are or are not a fan of comics and star wars and all the other things referenced in the book, you will love Evie's passion for it and be enthralled by it the same way Mateo was.
Mateo suffered -due to his wolf- a serious case of split personality! Mateo is soft, kind, caring, loving, careful with his words... his wolf is brash and focused on only two things: fighting and sex. And upon meeting Evie, fighting and Evie. 
I loved how different he is from his wolf to start and how much the two of them become one as the story progressed. It was both sweet and funny. 

Wolf shifters are my ultimate favorite. So there is a chance I am a tad itty bitty bias. I also think Juliette Cross is an amazing human being, so that might maybe perhaps make me a little bias too... but hey, I will try to be fair.
The book had one negative... sort of... kind of... I don't see it as a negative but a necessary evil... but fair is fair so here it goes: it was a tad slow and info dumping at times. I personally believe that is necessary when you start a new series, how else are the readers going to get acquainted with your new world?! But, yah... there were moments were I wanted the story to move along a little faster. 

And that is that. 
Juliette Cross never ceases to amaze me. She is a true master of her craft and I cannot wait to read what she comes up with next. A certain dark and quiet and hopefully moody-broody grimmer dating a rain of fu**ing sunshine would be interesting... I hope that is where she is going with it... 
*read that Juliette? hint-hint* hehe :) 
The other two couples that will hopefully also get their books are pretty obvious, and I already like them too. That vamp can have my number! 

Okay...I should stop now. You guys haven't read yet and have no idea what I am talking about now... In other words: when the book is out go fu**ing read so we can gash over it together!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Release date: January 14th, 2020
Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings BookshopAmazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.