Skip to main content

Encircled in Darkness by H.J. Marshall [arc review]

A few months ago a friend of mine introduced my first HJ Marshall title and I loved it. So of-course, when she told me about her new title I requested it straight away. And boy I'm glad I did!

The Blurb:
What if someone crawled into the dark with you and offered you a way out?

I made a deal to save my sister and became ensnared in a world filled with depravity, finding comfort in the dark recesses of my mind. The wicked feelings deep within can overtake you if you’re left without light for too long, and I reveled in the merciless world that equally thrilled and frightened me.

He accepted the darker parts of me, the shame and regret, and made a deal to save me. He brought me back into the light, learning to twist my delights to his will, destroying the shameful fragments that remained. Redeeming me with his touch, he destroyed the pain that tore through my heart.

He was a dangerous man who became my monster and my hero, recognizing the wicked parts of me and welcoming them. Knowing what lived in the dark recesses, he understood me in a way nobody ever had, guiding me, and helping me find myself. When old enemies return, I’m faced with the choice to hide in the shadows or stand and fight. They expose painful secrets that shake the foundation of my existence, threatening to destroy me from the inside out.

This is the story of how I walked into hell, only to be drawn out of the darkness by the most dangerous protector of them all.

The Review: 4.5 Stars

It is not that easy to find dark romance titles that are really truly dark. That make you sick to your stomach and fall in love. HJ Marshall managed to do both in this book. I really liked Embracing my Nightmare, but this one was a million times better.

Amaya needs money to save her sister and she sells her body to the devil in order to get it. Those first few pages were horrid (as it should in dark romance, so I don't mean that in a bad way). They were hard to read, difficult to digest. I wasn't sure who the main male character was going to be to start and for a second I thought it was the guy she was selling herself too. It was gross. 
When she was about to lose her soul due to the things she did our hero steps in. He is a man with kind words but with a darkness that sings to her own. She doesn't know much about him, but as she gets to know him, things get interesting. 

The author didn't hold back and as a result we have one of the best dark romances I've read in a while. I highly recommend it.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation