Skip to main content

The Summer Deal (Wildstone #5) by Jill Shalvis [arc review]

Do you read according to seasons? I almost never do. I like my paranormal romances a little too much for that. But, on occasion I get arcs that go with the seasons. This was one of them and it was a very enjoyable read! 
Blurb:
From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes a friends-to-frenemies-to-sisters story… And then add in a love story (okay, two love stories). Shake. Stir. Read on a lazy summer day at the beach.

Brynn Turner desperately wishes she had it together, but her personal life is like a ping-pong match that’s left her scared and hurt after so many attempts to get it right. In search of a place to lick her wounds and get a fresh start, she heads back home to Wildstone.

And then there’s Kinsey Davis, who after battling serious health issues her entire twenty-nine years of life, is tired of hoping for . . . well, anything. She's fierce, tough, and pretty much the opposite of Brynn except for one thing: they're half-sisters. Kinsey is keeping this bombshell, and a few others as well. Long time frenemies from summer camp, there’s no way she’s going to tell Brynn they’re related.

But then Brynn runs into Kinsey's lifelong best friend, Eli, renewing a childhood crush. He’s still easy-going and funny and sexy as hell. When he gets her to agree to a summer-time deal to trust him to do right by her, no matter what, she never dreams it’ll result in finding a piece of herself she didn’t even know was missing. She could have a sister, love, and a future―if she can only learn to let go of the past.

As the long days of summer wind down, the three of them must discover if forgiveness is enough to grasp the unconditional love that’s right in front of them. 

The Review: 3.5 Stars

That first paragraph in the blurb describes it perfectly: "a friends-to-frenemies-to-sisters story… And then add in a love story (okay, two love stories). Shake. Stir. Read on a lazy summer day at the beach."
It truly was a perfect read for a lazy summer day. It has enough to keep you interested but not so much that you can't put down while you have a drink or go cool down in the pool for a few minutes.

Kinsey has been battling a very serious disease her whole life and it is hard not to feel bad for her. The girl is difficult to love, but than, so many in her shoes would be too. 
Brynn was interesting. From the outside looking in, specially for someone with a life as hard as Kinsey's, she has a good life. A loving family, perfect health... her ex messed up things big time though. And is not surprising she is feeling a little -ok, a lot- out of sorts.
I loved getting to know them from an young age through short glimpses at their journal entries. It was nice having a glimpse at the real reasons behind their 'frenemy' status.
They are both very head strong and stubborn. I suppose it is unsurprising than that they ended up finding out they are sisters. 

The boys in the book were important to the story but they were not the highlight. I really wish we had a little more on on both their love interests actually. That being said, if you usually enjoy a easy to read women's fiction novel this will be right up your alley! 

All in all I thought this was a very well written and charming story. Give it a try!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation