Skip to main content

The Pull of The Stars by Emma Donoghue

A lone nurse in a maternity ward during the flu pandemic of 1918

I don’t often read general fiction. But when I do, it is often Emma Donoghue. Her books Room and Akin where great stories and I was certain so would The Pull of the Stars be. I was not disappointed. I was enthralled by it from beginning to end and I hope you all love it as much as I did! 

The book takes place during the height of the great flu pandemic and is almost entirely set in a little room, turned maternity ward, at an Irish hospital. Nurse Julia Power, due to many members of staff falling ill themselves ends up solely responsible for the pregnant mothers in that room. All assistance she gets is from a young girl who never helped in a hospital before and Dr. Kathleen Lynn, a rumored rebel on the run from the police. She immediately proves to be a lot more responsible and knowledgeable than the young male doctor in the hospital. 
Three days… that is the entirety of the book. And yet, so much happens. It was an emotional journey. Almost entirely on her own, Nurse Julia has to combat influenza and try to deliver healthy babies without losing their mothers. Sadly I cannot tell you that her days were wholly successful. Some battles she won, some she lost. You will find yourself surprisingly captivated by all the many different issues and difficulties Nurse Julia faces trying to save the lives under her care. 
Even though the struggles at that maternity ward would have been enough to keep you on your toes while reading, Emma Donoghue also brings to light other social issues- the aversion to contraception, social pressure to give away your baby if you are unmarried, sexual and physical abuse, a sadly high maternity mortality rate, the pandemic itself, and the horrors of the war. Nurse Julia’s own brother comes back from it unable to speak.
Although The Pull of the Stars is a fiction novel as a whole, it is mixed in with real events and testimonies. The female doctor, Kathleen Lynn, was very much a real person. Dr. Lynn was a pioneer of her time. She helped combat the influenza pandemic of 1918 and later founded her own children’s hospital. She even came to win a seat in the new Irish Parliament in 1923. 

Find the book at : Inklings Bookshop


Comments

  1. Your contents are completely awesome and share worthy. I really appreciate your efforts that you put on this. Keep sharing. For more Doctor Burleigh Heads related information visit Medical on Miami

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.