Skip to main content

"Quickies" August 2020

Hello Hello Sunnies! :)

This past month I've read a few older publications, and although I don't have the time to write long reviews on all of them, here is a quick recap (specially for those that are not following me on Instagram):

- Ride Hard by Laura Kaye

5 Stars

I absolutely LOVED this one. I enjoy MC romances most of the time so I was really looking forward to this one and it did not disappoint. It might not be what you would usually expect from an MC romance as the riders here are all good guys and the club is about helping others, but don't you think for a second that will mean less grit to the story. President Dare takes his duties seriously, his father did not, he run a corrupt MC and his brother and mum paid the price for that life. Dare dedicates his life to helping those in need. Haven is one of those. Her father is a horrible human being and he is helping her hide and start a new life. They are very different from each other, but that is what makes them so perfect. Cannot recommend this beauty enough! GO READ IT.

Find the book here: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- The Last Wolf by Maria Vale

3 Stars

Although this is the first book in the series I actually have already read book 2. And I was still confused... That is the biggest reason for 3 stars and not more. Great paranormal romance. A guy -shifter- who appears to be on the run and a girl -werewolf- who has been cast aside because of her physical difficulties find strength on each other to be and to do better. I loved their relationship, it was perfect. It was all the rest that was confusing an sometimes even unnecessary. Funnily enough that was my exact issue with book 2 - A Wolf Apart, so I think that must just be the authors style. 

Find the book here: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- Ten Count by Rihito Takarai - Manga, 6 volumes in total

4.5 Stars

I don't read manga often but when I do it is usually some smutty romance that my friend Becky has read before and she either recommended to me or I found in her goodreads list. I remember her recommending this one a while back on her Instagram and decided to finally give it a try. I am very glad that I did. Mental health is a topic that when done well always enchants. Shirotani is afraid of germs and Kurose is a psychiatrist that met Shirotani by accident. Kurose decides to help Shirotani to cure his phobia with exposure therapy and their relationship develops from there. This was by far one of the best Mangas I've ever read.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- Bartender with Benefits by Mickey Miller

2.5 Stars

Honestly, I only still read Mickey's books because of friends. They aren't bad, they just aren't my cup of tea. This particular series from him I actually really enjoy and I highly recommend the other books. I mean, Biker with Benefits may have a terrible cover but it is a fabulous book!!! And although 2.5 stats doesn't sound good it is not bad either. It simply means the book was very middle of the road for me Neither great or memorable. It is a good late night read if you enjoy the whole fake engagement and friends to lover thing. The main couple here fakes an engagement so that the guy can get a loan to start his own bar. Not bad, just not my thing.

Find the book here: GoodReads 

- Lover Unleashed by JR Ward

4 Stars

This is number 9 in the Black Dagger Brotherhood and really, what is not to love? This series is as popular as it is for a reason: the books are gold. Dr Manni and Payne's relationship developed at a very good pace and they were perfect for each other. I was happy to see Payne find happiness and discover herself after so long locked up with her mother in the sanctuary. It was also really nice to see V heal  from some of his past wounds with the help of Butch. The only negative would be that there was too much of Quinn on a book that is not suppose to be about him. But JR Ward often does that as a set up for future books. I believe his book is book 11? Great read.

Find the book here: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop

- The Boyfriend Project by Farrah Rochon

???

I am trying really hard to finish this one. It is not a bad book at all its just that I feel like I've read this story before. The exact same story. I won't say names because that is not nice or necessary but if you move the characters from this book into New York and change their skin color to white the story is very similar to a book I read last year just told a little differently. That bores me. If the author from this other said book, who is white, had written her book after this one she would get a lot of crap for it. I am sure Farrah created her own story here, I am not judging her,  but the book is in part popular because it was released during the height of BLM on the media and I find interesting no one has mentioned a thing about how similar it is to this other author's book. Its a little unfair. And I say this as a person of color myself. And I guess that bothers me a little too. I might finished it, I might not, will see... its basically the story of 3 women who got played by the same guy and vow to support each other and not date for a while. Samaiah meets a new guy at work and sparks fly. But is the new guy for real or too good to be true?

Find the book here: Goodreads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation