Skip to main content

Highland Gladiator (Scots and Swords #1) by Kathryn Le Veque

The title of this gem is so accurate and appropriate that if you were to describe the book in two words it would easily be Highland Gladiator! 😊

Blurb:

Truth. Justice. Revenge. Behind these stands The Scotsman's Sword

Gladiator meets Fight Club in the Scottish Highlands in a new romance from USA Today bestselling author Kathryn Le Veque...

When Lor Careston's quiet Highland village was attacked and burned, he felt helpless against the raiders who destroyed his home. Seeking revenge, but lacking the fighting skills he needs to execute his mission, he sets out to find the Ludus Caledonia―a mysterious fight guild that turns men into warriors.

Lor trains hard, proves himself in the ring, and earns a place with the very clan that decimated his home, having decided to set his plan for revenge in motion from inside the clan. But his plan didn't include Isabail Keith, a fiery lass who prefers broadswords to embroidery and isn't afraid to stand with the warriors of her clan. Lor thought the Keiths were his enemies, but when Isabail is threatened, he'll have to decide what he's willing to risk for the woman who has captured his heart and the clan that has become his home.

The Review: 4 Stars

If you know anything of gladiators, or watched movies with them, many aspects of this book will be familiar to you. I love all that and so I confess when I read the title and blurb I had trepidations. How can a romance book also represent all that well?! Fear not, it did. Kathryn Le Veque made that world her own and built something new yet very much reminiscent to what we know. It worked beautifully! 

The world building was very well written and the plot really well thought out. It is impressive how much information about their way of life, medieval conflicts, and fighting scenes she managed to put in just a few hundred pages while never letting us forget about the sweet and adorable romance between the main characters. On top of that the characters had depth and were easy to identify with and feel for. The story sucks you in and refuses to let you go.

Lor is adorable. He learns to use his body as weapon and becomes a tad dangerous as the story progresses but never stops being adorable. He is sweet, kind, loving, and it is easy to feel his heartache and need for vengeance in your own blood.

Isabail is a tomboy firecracker with a loving family and a misunderstood clan. Her savvy, tenacity, and good humor made her unforgettable.

I wouldn't describe this book as the most romantic or steamy. But it has its steamy moments and a very sweet and heartfelt romance. I would highly recommend and cannot wait for the next book!

Find the books at: Inklings Bookshop - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation