Skip to main content

Vows in Name Only (Billionaires of Boston #1) by Naima Simone


Can Naima Simone ever do wrong? If you actually have to ask or wonder what the answer is than you either have not read anything by her before or you just haven't read enough. The answer is obvious and easy: Hell to the No!

I was introduced to the Queen of Smut (aka- @naimasimoneauthor) in 2018 with Sin and Ink and it has been a wonderful ride ever since. I have a favorite of-course: Passion and Ink, but ALL her books are amazing. There is the trademark smut (she does not claim this as a trademark, I do for her, and love it!), there is passion, there is angst, there is swoon worthy romance, and the characters, main and secondary, are all impossible not to love. And that is not a comment just on Vows in Name Only, or only the books mentioned above, but on all her books. 

Blurb:

An arranged marriage neither wants, but both soon crave… from USA TODAY bestselling author Naima Simone!

Manipulated into a marriage of inconvenience,
until one sizzling kiss changes everything…


Devon Cole must marry Cain Farrell or lose everything. But she can never let her billionaire husband-to-be know why she agreed to her father’s dangerous machinations. Just as she’ll never know her father is blackmailing Cain to tie the knot, too. What kind of marriage can Devon even expect from a man with such cold eyes…and such hot kisses? She’s about to find out.

The Review: 5 Stars

As most of you know I have a huge soft spot for broody and moody male characters. And well, Cain makes many moody-broody characters out there look like child's play. The man can make you swallow dry with just a look. Even worse, just reading about said look (*insert laugh emoji here. Me thinks I'm funny).

And Devon... she is everything I can't stand on a female character and yet I am disgusted at myself right now because I loved the woman. WTF? She is a tad spineless to start letting her father pretty much sell her. I hate that. Except that her reasons melted my cold bitchy heart. Could she have told Cain what was going on sooner? sure... but how was she to know if she could trust the cold guy that promised her hell? It's kind of understandable. 

Their relationship and chemistry developed beautifully and it was as a steamy smut affair. I wouldn't change a thing. The angst was seriously intense. Cain has a lot to deal with, his dad was a monster of a man. But, he did with his death gave Cain two brothers. It is not a good relationship to start, understandably so, but it will make you cry (or at least shed a tear) towards the end. I am not a book crier... but in every darn Naima Simone book... I kind of hate her for it... You know, that kind of hate that makes the saying "love and hate go hand-in-hand" so apt. 

In short: Why are you still here? GO READ!

Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop (free US shipping) - GoodReads







Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation