Skip to main content

The Stonefire Dragon series by Jessie Donovan- 5 out of 5

The plot on each of the books in the series is slightly different from the other, in each book new characters appear but old ones are never forgotten. I am only on book 3 (it is a series of 8) and I am already in love with it.
Update: I have now read all 10 Stonefire Dragons books and Lochguard (spin off series) and have loved them all! I will have more reviews for them here soon! -Dec 2017- 

The first book is about Melanie Hall and Tristan Macleod (my favorite still!!!). Melanie offers herself as a sacrifice to the dragon in exchange for a vial of dragon's blood. Dragon's blood cure any illnesses and her brother is really ill. The Dragonman she is assigned to hates humans, and with reason. Dragon hunters -humans- killed his mother and tortured his sister. I wont say more not to spoil it to anyone...

The second book in the series is about the dragon clan leader Bram and the Department of Dragons Affairs inspector (and human) Evie Marshall. Contrary to Tristan, Bram does not hate humans, but that does not mean he is not suspicious of them, and Evie has ulterior motives to be inspecting the clan. Her life is at risk, her only choice -or so she thinks- is to seduce the clan's leader and have him take her as his mate.

Now, before I tell you what I think of the books, a little warning (not one I was given, I was completely taken by surprise!): this is not just a supernatural, shape shifting book. It is an adult book... the sexual references are very strong. I almost fell of my chair... It is a romance story though (possibly one of the most romantic paranormal books I read in a long while).

Now, if you can put that aside (or happens to like it like I do), the story on these books are awesome. It moves at a great pace! There is always something happening and you are never left guessing for too long. And the endings are all satisfactory! There are a few things unanswered, which gives room for the next book, but they are good endings. No massive cliff-hangers.
The characters are clever, strong, sassy... I found myself laughing with them a few times.
There is strong friendship and trust theme running through. I rather like that. The interaction between the members of the clan is entertaining and beautiful to read.

The main female characters are fierce! Although they are human, they give the dragonman a good run for their money. It is super entertaining reading their interactions and thoughts.

All in all, a great contemporary paranormal romance! GO read!!!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b