Skip to main content

The Stonefire Dragon series by Jessie Donovan- 5 out of 5

The plot on each of the books in the series is slightly different from the other, in each book new characters appear but old ones are never forgotten. I am only on book 3 (it is a series of 8) and I am already in love with it.
Update: I have now read all 10 Stonefire Dragons books and Lochguard (spin off series) and have loved them all! I will have more reviews for them here soon! -Dec 2017- 

The first book is about Melanie Hall and Tristan Macleod (my favorite still!!!). Melanie offers herself as a sacrifice to the dragon in exchange for a vial of dragon's blood. Dragon's blood cure any illnesses and her brother is really ill. The Dragonman she is assigned to hates humans, and with reason. Dragon hunters -humans- killed his mother and tortured his sister. I wont say more not to spoil it to anyone...

The second book in the series is about the dragon clan leader Bram and the Department of Dragons Affairs inspector (and human) Evie Marshall. Contrary to Tristan, Bram does not hate humans, but that does not mean he is not suspicious of them, and Evie has ulterior motives to be inspecting the clan. Her life is at risk, her only choice -or so she thinks- is to seduce the clan's leader and have him take her as his mate.

Now, before I tell you what I think of the books, a little warning (not one I was given, I was completely taken by surprise!): this is not just a supernatural, shape shifting book. It is an adult book... the sexual references are very strong. I almost fell of my chair... It is a romance story though (possibly one of the most romantic paranormal books I read in a long while).

Now, if you can put that aside (or happens to like it like I do), the story on these books are awesome. It moves at a great pace! There is always something happening and you are never left guessing for too long. And the endings are all satisfactory! There are a few things unanswered, which gives room for the next book, but they are good endings. No massive cliff-hangers.
The characters are clever, strong, sassy... I found myself laughing with them a few times.
There is strong friendship and trust theme running through. I rather like that. The interaction between the members of the clan is entertaining and beautiful to read.

The main female characters are fierce! Although they are human, they give the dragonman a good run for their money. It is super entertaining reading their interactions and thoughts.

All in all, a great contemporary paranormal romance! GO read!!!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.