Skip to main content

Vassa in the Night- 1.5 out of 5

How terribly disappointing...

It was originally a 1 out of 5, but after I slept on it I decided that was way too harsh, there were good things about the book, even if only a very few...


The book is about a girl called Vassa and her magical doll. 

They get 'trapped' in the local store one night. The problem is, to start anyway, that the store beheads shop lifters, even innocent ones. 
As the book progresses Vassa discovers a curse in the store, and with her doll, Erg, Vassa tries to break the which's curse and free her neighborhood. 

It sounds mighty interesting and I was very excited to read it. I was hoping for some crazy odd and bizarre book that pushes the boundaries of one's imagination. Sadly, instead of being an exciting read, it was a rather gory read. Ok, I get it uppercase (I got the book from my subscription with them), its October, Halloween and all that... but just no! That did not work for me!


The world building makes no sense whatsoever. Where does the magic come from? what does her dad disappearing to become a dog (yes, you read that right) has to do with the story? Bea's role is almost pointless, her mother's role is futile... The only interesting character is Night and he doesn't get enough attention at all. 


And the book is also so gory... none of the killings make sense though, which makes the gory part somewhat disgusting and extremely unpleasant.

If you like horror just for the gruesome part, perhaps you will like it. But I am a reader and I love character building and background stories. Without that it becomes savage for savage's sake and therefore pointless.

So, what good do I have to say about it? One: Night! The idea that night is alive and everywhere. The idea that night can be trapped and the consequences of it. That alone could have made it for a great book. It saddens me that wasn't the case. Two: Erg! The doll's character is funny and clever. If it wasn't for Erg this review would not even have 2 stars...


I know I am being harsh, and trust me it hurts being so harsh. I have been an avid reader for a long time, and in all my years I have only left low scores like this once or twice. This is sad, very very sad. 

Comments

  1. Hey I found you! Great review. I'm following you now. I'm bookidhgirlreads on Instagram! You're doing a really good job with your blog so far.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Woah...! Now i have mixed feelings..!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I strongly believe this is a love or hate book. No in between. Who knows... you might like it!

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation