Skip to main content

Before I fall by Lauren Oliver- 3.75 stars

Before I fall is the story about a popular teenage girl, Samantha, and her very popular friends. Sam dies at the end of her school's 'cupid day' in a car crush but keeps reliving the day. For seven  days she wakes up on the 12th of February and by reliving the day again and again she comes to realize how one life, her life, can have an effect on the live of those around her. Even the ones she does not speak with.
Samantha and her girlfriends are malicious and mean. She may not instigate all the horrible things her friends do and say but she tags along and never stops them.
The book is basically a story of re-rewriting wrongs. Samantha has, after her death, six days to change things, to change a few lives.
As Samantha relives that day, and messes it all up again and again, we slowly get a better understanding of how she became that way. We also learn more about her friends and a few other secondary characters. We learn how one or two events in someone's past can forever change someone's life.
I love all that! I think the arching story in Before I fall is great. It makes you think more about life, about your everyday actions, about those around you, and finally, about death!
It teaches you to appreciate the small things in life.

The problem is the book is repetitive. Reliving seven days gets tiring on the reader. I skimmed read large chucks of the book.
Another thing that annoyed me tremendously is how horrible, mean and bitchy the characters are. Now, I get that they are meant to be that way. I get the girls are meant to be spoiled brats. But it was just way too much. I feel like there was more of that than actual story building. After two days I knew exactly how horrible the girls were, there was no need to read again and again the same horrible lines. The author could have concentrated on Kent a little more. Or on the other girls past, she really only expands on Lindsay. She doesn't even expand much on Sam's own background, there are a few mentions here and there, glimpses, but never enough. I am not saying that background info on the characters is/was necessary, I am simply pointing out I would rather prefer that than the continuous tiring bitchiness between the characters. As I said, I got it by the two that they weren't very nice.

The last problem with the book, and the biggest one for me, is the ending.
Sam had to learn to sacrifice herself for the sake of others. Problem is, she IS ALREADY DEAD! So what's the point? Why does she has to do that for the cycle to stop? There is no explanation for the abrupt ending. She dies again, like she did all the other 6 days and that's that. I think there are pages missing at the end of my book.... 😕😕

Conclusion: Before I fall has a great premise. The though behind most of the book is great and I would highly recommend that you read it. I also dare you not to fall in love with Kent's character!
But, sadly, be also prepared to get annoyed at the characters and to feel a tad bored from time to time because of its repetitiveness.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.