Skip to main content

Before I fall by Lauren Oliver- 3.75 stars

Before I fall is the story about a popular teenage girl, Samantha, and her very popular friends. Sam dies at the end of her school's 'cupid day' in a car crush but keeps reliving the day. For seven  days she wakes up on the 12th of February and by reliving the day again and again she comes to realize how one life, her life, can have an effect on the live of those around her. Even the ones she does not speak with.
Samantha and her girlfriends are malicious and mean. She may not instigate all the horrible things her friends do and say but she tags along and never stops them.
The book is basically a story of re-rewriting wrongs. Samantha has, after her death, six days to change things, to change a few lives.
As Samantha relives that day, and messes it all up again and again, we slowly get a better understanding of how she became that way. We also learn more about her friends and a few other secondary characters. We learn how one or two events in someone's past can forever change someone's life.
I love all that! I think the arching story in Before I fall is great. It makes you think more about life, about your everyday actions, about those around you, and finally, about death!
It teaches you to appreciate the small things in life.

The problem is the book is repetitive. Reliving seven days gets tiring on the reader. I skimmed read large chucks of the book.
Another thing that annoyed me tremendously is how horrible, mean and bitchy the characters are. Now, I get that they are meant to be that way. I get the girls are meant to be spoiled brats. But it was just way too much. I feel like there was more of that than actual story building. After two days I knew exactly how horrible the girls were, there was no need to read again and again the same horrible lines. The author could have concentrated on Kent a little more. Or on the other girls past, she really only expands on Lindsay. She doesn't even expand much on Sam's own background, there are a few mentions here and there, glimpses, but never enough. I am not saying that background info on the characters is/was necessary, I am simply pointing out I would rather prefer that than the continuous tiring bitchiness between the characters. As I said, I got it by the two that they weren't very nice.

The last problem with the book, and the biggest one for me, is the ending.
Sam had to learn to sacrifice herself for the sake of others. Problem is, she IS ALREADY DEAD! So what's the point? Why does she has to do that for the cycle to stop? There is no explanation for the abrupt ending. She dies again, like she did all the other 6 days and that's that. I think there are pages missing at the end of my book.... 😕😕

Conclusion: Before I fall has a great premise. The though behind most of the book is great and I would highly recommend that you read it. I also dare you not to fall in love with Kent's character!
But, sadly, be also prepared to get annoyed at the characters and to feel a tad bored from time to time because of its repetitiveness.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation