Skip to main content

Daughter of the Pirate King- Tricia Levenseller: 4.8 stars


Daughter of the Pirate King was a surprise read for me, I knew nothing about the book until it arrived
in my house in the Owl Crate box for the month of march. And what a surprise it was! I am really excited to be sharing this review with you all. The book was fast paced (something I always like), full of adventure, suspense, a tad of romance, bravery, scheming, deceit... all you would expect from a book about pirates!

Book blurb by Amazon:

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map―the key to a legendary treasure trove―seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.
More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King

Alosa, the main character is a pirate. She is clever, very strong and very determined to accomplish her mission on board of the enemy ship. She is also, as the title of the book gives away: the daughter of the pirate king.
As the book progresses we find out more about Alosa and learn therefore to see things the way she does. There is a lot in her past, specially between her and her father that is not pretty, yet she remains loyal to him. He is her father and she clearly loves him, for better or for worse...
Her character is also rather funny. She is very sure of herself. Or full of herself.... depending on ones point of view I suppose! But she is also a serious character and at times grave and sad. I saw a few people comparing her to Jack Sparrow, I don't think I can easily make the same comparison. Yes, Jack is full of himself, but he does not have the same seriousness, devotion to a person and sense of duty that Alosa does.

Riden and Draxen are both very good characters. They are brothers and they run the enemy ship. Draxen is greedy and ruthless. Riden is a little more merciful, but his loyalty to his brother doesn't always allow for that side of him to show. Riden is by far the cleverest character in the book. He learns a lot about Alosa simply by watching the way she carries herself.

There is some romance, but it is not prominent. The romance is also why although I am close to giving it a 5 stars rating I can't bring myself to do it. I loved all about it... until the ending. It was so vague. Yah, I get that there will be another book, but it is so obvious how they feel about each other that not just 'making it happen' made the ending rather boring. One kiss, one line, one tiny little anything between the two at the end would have turned a boring ending into something a little more exciting. Now I have this fear that the author did not do that in order to keep them apart in the next book, which will really anger me... hehe

Some of the other pirates in the enemy ship are also really fun to read. I have a suspicion that at least one of them  will have some very entertaining story in the next book.

Go Read



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation