Skip to main content

Uppercase vs LitJoy crate book box subscriptions - April 2017

Hi guys! As some of you know I decided to try a different subscription box every month in addition to my Uppercase box. Last month was Owlcrate vs Uppercase. This month I tried LitJoy crate!

So, let's start with contents and price:



LitJoy ($29.99+$8.32 shipping/US)

- Dream-catcher crafted by LitJoy
- Weep Candle + Bookmark coupon by Wick and Fable
- Karu Painting in Light art print by @lesyablackbird
- Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales by Naomi Lewis
- The Book: Strange the Dreamer  by Laini Taylor (with a signed sticker, a main character sticker, and letter from the author)









UpperCase ($23.00+$6.50 shipping/US)

- Woodmark "Not all who wonder are lost" by Ink & Wonder desings
- Harry Potter Hogwarts Notebook, gold foiled and lined
- Challenge Resist Defy magnet
- Uppercase's reading experience bookmark
- The Book: Defy the Stars  by Claudia Gray (signed)



Overview of each box: 

Let's start with LitJoy crate! It arrived about a week later than my Uppercase subscription in a personalized LitJoy box. I loved everything about it! The dream catcher is absolutely stunning, it is already hanging on my bookshelf. I love the candle, it has a wonderful refreshing fruity scent and I can't wait to have my room smelling of it.
The Karou art print was a wonderful addition and a great surprise. If you have been reading my blog for a while you know that although I loved The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series I had very contradictory feelings on the last book as I hated the new characters introduced. That being said, I love Karu and Akiva, that print is stunning and I am so very happy to have it.
The Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales was also a nice surprise. I did not have fairy tales read to me as a kid or had a tv to watch them, that means I don't actually know most of those fairy tales. I am looking forward to it.
The last thing is the book. I was considering buying it, so bonus points there! As some of you know, I love my signed books and I despise signed bookmarks, notes, etc. The book came with a signed sticker. Not impressed! LOL That being said, the first page of the book is blank, so I quickly put the signed sticker there. Problem solved. Together with the book and signed sticker was a little letter card from the author (cute note by the way) and a sticker of the book's main character.
The price is steep, but contrary to last's month book box review (when I said that the March owlcrate was too expensive for its box contents- Link here), LitJoy crate was worth every cent. And than some... 100% worth it!
All in all, this was an amazing box and I will definitely be ordering from LitJoy again.

Now we turn to my good old Uppercase. I really love this company, their boxes have less things than most (something reflected on the price) but everything you get is of the most outstanding quality. The Notebook that came with the box this month is stunning and it is of the best quality possible. Very shiny and pretty on the inside! I am not a Harry Potter girl, so I gave the notebook to a friend I love that I knew would enjoy it more than me.
Although I am not a Harry Potter person, I did keep the woodmark. It is very pretty and I do love that saying.
As per usual -and Uppercase biggest selling point to me- the book came signed. I have never heard of the book but I am very intrigued. I heard good things about the author from other book friends.
All in all, another great box from Uppercase.

Uppercase or LitJoy?!

This is rather an unfair question for this particular month as I am not a fan of Harry Potter. So although I am an UpperCase fan and will not stop my subscription with them anytime soon, this month I have to go with the competition.
LitJoy crate had an amazing box! Everything was of great quality and absolutely stunning! I might even subscribe with them after I give the two other companies on my list a try. That is not say Uppercase wasn't, it just wasn't my 'cup of tea'.

Comments

  1. thanks for that! Always nice to hear comparisons, there are so many of them!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation