Skip to main content

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff- 4.8/5 stars

NEVER FLINCH. NEVER FEAR. NEVER FORGET

Nevernight was exquisite! One of the most original books I have read this year. On originality it loses only to another masterpiece by the same author: Illuminae!

For the Book Blurb click Here

I almost didn't read it. And that would have been a tragedy! Thank you my dear friend Giota (insta) for recommending it.

I was captivated by the book upon reading the very first page. It is told from two different perspectives narrating two very different 'firsts' using very similar vocabulary. The writing skill Jay Kristoff possesses is out of this world. I literally cannot think of one single author that can make two huge and very different moments in someone's life like those using almost the exact same words sound so different and so intriguing on their own. It was amazing. And that my dear friends, was only the first few pages...!!

Mia Covere is one very interesting heroine. What she wants in life? become one of the most feared assassins in the world! She suffered devastating and terrifying things at a very young age and wants nothing more than avenge her family. She is more than just a girl though, she is a girl with a dark shadow and a power to control shadows that she does not fully understand herself.
To gain the skills she needs to kill those who wronged her and her family she must take apprenticeship at a secret school for Blades (assassins) and pass a number of tests. The tests are bloody, violent, deadly... Jay Kristoff does not shy away from strong imagery and strong language.

I could explain the beauty of Mia and the book myself, but lovely Jessica (GoodReads) had the perfect words:
"Kristoff calls Mia an assassin who is to death what a maestro is to a symphony, but I felt the same way about Kristoff's manipulation of words and language. Whether Mia slipped into a room like a knife between the ribs or we met a man whose face was more scar than face, this reader felt like she was being spun and tossed by a master. In NEVERNIGHT, Solis might be the Shahiid of Songs, but it was Jay Kristoff who made me dance to the music of his story in ways I've rarely been moved. O so ridiculously highly recommended."

The friendships and even the rivalries in the book were all in tune and fun to read. 
There is little romance, but the little there is is intense (be ready for some very R rated material). If you are a lover of romances this isn't for you. The romance is there, but it is not the main thing in Mia's mind at any point. 

The other character worth mentioning is Tric. Mia meets him while in search for the school. Both are set in learning the skills necessary to become a blade and kill those who wronged them. They form a beautiful relationship. Tric is deadly, as is Mia, but he is also a lot more open with his feelings and much more approachable than she is. You will fall in love with him easily. 

I am a weirdo, as you all know... so who did I fall for? The head of the school! The secretive and dark Lord Cassius. The ONLY one with powers like Mia. I was so intrigued about him and would love to have read a lot more on him.

So... after all this praise you are probably wondering why I am not giving it 5 stars right? Well, there are three reasons:
-1- Footnotes: Yup! the book has footnotes as some sort of world building... hated it!
-2- The assassin: liking it or not I will always compare female assassins now to my beloved Aelin from throne of glass, and Mia is a sad sad comparison. Don't even try to compare. Its probably best.
-2- The ending: Lord Cassius/Tric: what happened to Tric was very predictable. I saw it coming ages before it happened. And what happened to Lord Cassius I did not see coming at all and was very surprised and unhappy about it. I am intrigued to see what will happen in the next book...


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b