Skip to main content

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake- 4/5 stars

Three Dark Crowns got me like: 'come again?'
It was one of those books that once you get into it you need to know what happens next, you are therefore truly involved. But at no point you scream with excitement... If it wasn't for the beautifully crafted ending it would have been a lower score... but no no... Kendare Blake was clever. VERY clever. The way the ending for all three queens just turned it all on its head so simply and yet efficiently deserves much praise. If you find yourself struggling with the book to start with, please do hold on! 
I am (and proudly -sorry not sorry-) a pain when reviewing book endings for fantasy books. I am rarely satisfied or happy with it. So it means a lot to me that I liked this ending so much. -random information I though you all might like 😛- 

If you want to know what the book is about before reading my review click here for the GoodReads book blurb.


The Sisters:

Katharine the poisoner: She is meant to survive any poison, but her gift is weak. She doesn't resist poisons as she should. She is frail, weak, skinny... She grows a little stronger as the story develops, but not her gift, that remains meek. She knows she must kill her sisters if she is to survive and become queen, but with a gift as weak as hers, how can she do it?
She develops a love interest, but he is not all that he seems, he wants more than he lets on. I questioned his motives the whole way and I am still not sure about him now.

Mirabella the elemental: She is the strongest of all sisters. She should win easily. The problem? she loves too fiercely. She knows she shouldn't love her sisters, that when the time comes she must kill them and take the throne. But she can't do it. She can't kill them. She remembers how they were as kids, how they protected and loved each other. Just the thought of harming them brings her nightmares.
It is her friendships in the book that mostly caught my attention. She is the most caring and loyal of the sisters! There is a love interest for her as well... although I am not sure how real it is, and you will understand this comment once you read the book...

Arsinoe the naturalist: She was my favorite of the sisters. Brave and care free. But gift-less. She would kill either sister immediately, but she does not posses the gift to do it. As far as gifts go, she is the weakest.
Her story almost feels like it is more about her friends than it is about her. That might be in a way why I like hers best, there is more diversity and interesting things happening around her than the other two sisters. Her love interest (at least I hope he will eventually become that) is my favorite character in the whole book! Go Billy!

The three Queens all face different obstacles and it is impossible to tell each will win the throne. Specially after the twists and turns towards the end of the book. One thing is certain: to be queen is to be cursed! You are either the one to kill the ones you love or the one killed by them!

I am very much looking forward to the sequel!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b