Skip to main content

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake- 4/5 stars

Three Dark Crowns got me like: 'come again?'
It was one of those books that once you get into it you need to know what happens next, you are therefore truly involved. But at no point you scream with excitement... If it wasn't for the beautifully crafted ending it would have been a lower score... but no no... Kendare Blake was clever. VERY clever. The way the ending for all three queens just turned it all on its head so simply and yet efficiently deserves much praise. If you find yourself struggling with the book to start with, please do hold on! 
I am (and proudly -sorry not sorry-) a pain when reviewing book endings for fantasy books. I am rarely satisfied or happy with it. So it means a lot to me that I liked this ending so much. -random information I though you all might like 😛- 

If you want to know what the book is about before reading my review click here for the GoodReads book blurb.


The Sisters:

Katharine the poisoner: She is meant to survive any poison, but her gift is weak. She doesn't resist poisons as she should. She is frail, weak, skinny... She grows a little stronger as the story develops, but not her gift, that remains meek. She knows she must kill her sisters if she is to survive and become queen, but with a gift as weak as hers, how can she do it?
She develops a love interest, but he is not all that he seems, he wants more than he lets on. I questioned his motives the whole way and I am still not sure about him now.

Mirabella the elemental: She is the strongest of all sisters. She should win easily. The problem? she loves too fiercely. She knows she shouldn't love her sisters, that when the time comes she must kill them and take the throne. But she can't do it. She can't kill them. She remembers how they were as kids, how they protected and loved each other. Just the thought of harming them brings her nightmares.
It is her friendships in the book that mostly caught my attention. She is the most caring and loyal of the sisters! There is a love interest for her as well... although I am not sure how real it is, and you will understand this comment once you read the book...

Arsinoe the naturalist: She was my favorite of the sisters. Brave and care free. But gift-less. She would kill either sister immediately, but she does not posses the gift to do it. As far as gifts go, she is the weakest.
Her story almost feels like it is more about her friends than it is about her. That might be in a way why I like hers best, there is more diversity and interesting things happening around her than the other two sisters. Her love interest (at least I hope he will eventually become that) is my favorite character in the whole book! Go Billy!

The three Queens all face different obstacles and it is impossible to tell each will win the throne. Specially after the twists and turns towards the end of the book. One thing is certain: to be queen is to be cursed! You are either the one to kill the ones you love or the one killed by them!

I am very much looking forward to the sequel!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.