Skip to main content

R.I.P. Eliza Hart by Alyssa Sheinmel- 5/5 stars [arc review]


This is no shadow of doubt my favorite contemporary read for 2017 this far! 

For the book blurb click Here (GoodReads)

I am so in awe that it is almost hard to write the review. I feel like I won't give it justice.
R.I.P Eliza Hart is about (mainly) two girls with mental issues. Ellie, who suffers from claustrophobia due to a traumatic experience we don't figure out till the end of the book. And Eliza, who was emotionally unstable for reasons revealed slowly throughout the book. 

It impressed me how much background story is given to both main characters in just a few hundred pages. I felt Ellie's pain thorough the pages and I was always curious to know what would happen next. She was a wonderful and easy character to relate to. As was Sam, her roommate, friend, and eventually love interest. The romance story happening on the side between those two is adorable. I was gushing and blushing while reading their interactions. Utterly cute! 

Eliza was just as well written. Her character is a little darker. A little more disturbed. A little harder to understand. But as we find out more about her and about her family we began to understand it all better. We began to understand her better...

I found Alyssa Sheinmel's description of both girls issues profoundly touching and respectful. There aren't many young adult authors out there that can write on such subjects in a realistic and yet light hearted way, she does that perfectly. I also loved that she dives into Eliza's family's background in order to explain Eliza's issues. I don't think many people realize that certain mental problems are/can be hereditary.

It is my belief that the main message in the book was to never be afraid or ashamed to ask for help. And that was done beautifully!
Everyone that has suffered from depression has difficulties talking about it. Both because it is not an easy subject and because of the bad rep it receives. So to have this done so well was fantastic!  

I will be recommending this to everyone I know who enjoys contemporaries and/or realisticsbooks! Go Read! 

Ps- This book does not come out till November 2017. My review is based on a arc I received from the author. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation