Skip to main content

Deadly Obsession (Steele Ops #1) by April Hunt [arc review]

“April Hunt’s romantic suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat.”
New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster 
True that!
I was on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. This romantic suspense was perfectly written.
The blurb:
Someone is watching their every move.

After a lifetime spent in and out of hospitals, Zoey Wright is tired of playing it safe. She’s ready to take charge of her own life and get out of her comfort zone, starting with a new job as a CSI agent. But when her childhood crush Knox Steele gets pulled onto her case, Zoey needs to put her feelings for him aside or more women will die at the hands of the serial killer preying on her hometown. 

Former Army Ranger Knox Steele is back in Washington to help his brothers open an elite private security firm. He never expected to stumble onto a crime scene, or see his best friend’s little sister working it. Zoey is all grown up now, and the attraction between them is electric, despite his best efforts to resist it. But all that changes for Knox when he realizes the victims have one thing in common . . . and Zoey might be next.


4.5 Stars

This was absolutely fantastic! The last romantic suspense book I read left me less than impressed, more suspense than romance. But Deadly Obsession had the perfect balance between the two. 

The story was really well told. It had a good pace and the banter and angst between all the characters was well thought out. The romance between Knox and Zoey is the main act and everything else fits in between their scenes. To me that is how romance suspense books should be so I was very happy the mystery didn't take it over. It was a very interesting story and I kept wondering who the killer would be for quite sometime, it was not obvious to start. 
The short chapters from the serial killer's point of view were creepy and I absolutely loved them! It added an extra element to the story.

Zoey's character was fabulous. Her tenacity and will to keep going besides all the curve balls life has thrown at her made her an admirable character. 
Knox annoyed me a little to start, he was too concerned with his own feelings to worry about the consequence of his actions on others. But as the story progressed he grew on me. 

Knox's brothers all stole the scene when they were on the page. I cannot wait to see what stories April Hunt comes out with for his siblings. 

All in all a great story. Perfect? no. But close enough and I will definitely be reading the books yet to come!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.