Skip to main content

Deadly Obsession (Steele Ops #1) by April Hunt [arc review]

“April Hunt’s romantic suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat.”
New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster 
True that!
I was on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. This romantic suspense was perfectly written.
The blurb:
Someone is watching their every move.

After a lifetime spent in and out of hospitals, Zoey Wright is tired of playing it safe. She’s ready to take charge of her own life and get out of her comfort zone, starting with a new job as a CSI agent. But when her childhood crush Knox Steele gets pulled onto her case, Zoey needs to put her feelings for him aside or more women will die at the hands of the serial killer preying on her hometown. 

Former Army Ranger Knox Steele is back in Washington to help his brothers open an elite private security firm. He never expected to stumble onto a crime scene, or see his best friend’s little sister working it. Zoey is all grown up now, and the attraction between them is electric, despite his best efforts to resist it. But all that changes for Knox when he realizes the victims have one thing in common . . . and Zoey might be next.


4.5 Stars

This was absolutely fantastic! The last romantic suspense book I read left me less than impressed, more suspense than romance. But Deadly Obsession had the perfect balance between the two. 

The story was really well told. It had a good pace and the banter and angst between all the characters was well thought out. The romance between Knox and Zoey is the main act and everything else fits in between their scenes. To me that is how romance suspense books should be so I was very happy the mystery didn't take it over. It was a very interesting story and I kept wondering who the killer would be for quite sometime, it was not obvious to start. 
The short chapters from the serial killer's point of view were creepy and I absolutely loved them! It added an extra element to the story.

Zoey's character was fabulous. Her tenacity and will to keep going besides all the curve balls life has thrown at her made her an admirable character. 
Knox annoyed me a little to start, he was too concerned with his own feelings to worry about the consequence of his actions on others. But as the story progressed he grew on me. 

Knox's brothers all stole the scene when they were on the page. I cannot wait to see what stories April Hunt comes out with for his siblings. 

All in all a great story. Perfect? no. But close enough and I will definitely be reading the books yet to come!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b