Skip to main content

Unexpected (Start Up in the City #1) by Kelly Rimmer [arc review]

Co-parenting with her best friend. What could go wrong?
Overall a very sweet read. Kelly Rimmer did a great job!


Unexpected by Kelly Rimmer. Pic by @glimpes_of_my_books
Blurb:
The next three decades of Abby Herbert's life are as carefully planned out as the last three were. Best career ever? Check. Great friends, one of whom she lives with in a stunning Tribeca apartment? Check. Perfect man to share her dream family? Surely just a matter of time. But then she gets devastating news from her doctor--if she wants to get pregnant, she needs to get started on that by...well, yesterday. On the bright side, she has the perfectperson in mind to be the father.Tech entrepreneur Marcus Ross has been harboring decidedly not-friends feelings toward Abby. He doesn't want to lose her and, knowing his feelings are one-sided, he's been trying to move on. When he learns about the curveball Abby's just been hit with, he promises to be there for her however she wants him to be, even if the idea of fatherhood is a little complicated for him right now. But it isn't long until boundaries start to blur, and a deal struck between friends starts to turn into something perilously close to feelings that could change everything...

The review: 3 Stars

My favorite thing about the whole story is their friendship. Abby and Marcus have something we all want in life, a friend that knows you and that you can trust with anything and everything. I loved that the story built from that friendship. 
Marcus is super sweet, that one guy that you can trust with your life. There was nothing not to love about him. I liked Abby's determination but I couldn't help but find her annoying at times. 
The side characters were really good. Abby's outspoken friend is going to make a great heroine eventually!
And the side story between Marcus, his twin, and his dad was interesting, it kept my interest the whole way. 

As sweet as this book was I just need 'more' from my romance books. More feelings, more twists  and turns (even if predictable), more grown up characters, more chemistry, more more more... Abby's issues with confrontation were annoying after a while and it was really bothering me and boring me towards the end. I obviously enjoyed the book or I wouldn't have given it 3 stars, but it could have been better.
Will I read the next one? YES! Can't wait actually :) It wasn't perfect, but it was GOOD!
Go Read!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation