Skip to main content

Unbroken Cowboy (Gold Valley #5) by Maisey Yates [arc review]

Maisey Yates is a new author to me and I am happy to say I will be reading from her again. This book was everything I didn't know I wanted. Once I started reading it I could not stop!

Unbroken Cowboy, Maisey Yates @glimpses_of_my_books

Blurb:
Dane Parker traded in his trailer-park roots for glory as a bull rider. But when a serious injury sidelines him for months, it’s the first time he can’t just pull himself up by his bootstraps. The last thing he wants to deal with is sweet family friend Bea treating him like one of her wounded animals—or the unexpected attraction that suddenly flares between them.

Beatrix Leighton has loved Dane for years, while he’s always seen her as another sister. When she enlists his help to start her animal sanctuary, she thinks it will give him purpose. Instead, it brings all the desire she feels for him to the boiling point. Bea’s father taught her early on that love means loss. But could her forbidden crush turn into a love that will last a lifetime?

The review: 4.5 Stars

I really wasn't sure if I was going to like it. I am not a fan of the whole virgin trope, but in this case it worked. Bea was a virgin, but she wasn't naive and childish or had unrealistic expectations. She has been infatuated with Dane her whole life and knew it was not going anywhere, she knew he looked at her like a little sister and had accepted that long ago.
Dane on the other hand needed to fall off from glory to find himself and see what has always been there in front of him.  

Bea and Dane had a wonderful relationship. Their progress from friends to more was really well written, it didn't happen overnight and it made sense. They both had some baggage to deal with towards the end of the book to be able to actually be together and it was nice to see them grow into better people. They made each other better and stronger and that is always nice to read.

Last but not least Maisey Yated deserves a lot of praise for her almost poetic writing. If I had mine sticky tabs with me while reading, the book would be full of it. Her prose was so so very romantic and beautiful! 

ps- I did not fell like I missed anything by reading this book without having read the other 4. It is a solid stand alone!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation