Skip to main content

Hot to the Touch (Brotherhood by Fire #1) by Jaci Burton [arc review]

This was not what I was expecting, but not in a bad way. I LOVED the story. 
It was sweet and touching and had plenty of steamy moments too. 
A good romance book all around!

Blurb:
Firefighter Jackson Donovan doesn't look back—as a rule. So when his past comes roaring back to life in the form of not-so-damsel-in-distress Becks Benning, the last thing he wants to do is relive old times. No matter how tempting she makes it seem...

Now thanks to his two interfering brothers, Becks is living with them while she looks for a new place and tries to pick up the pieces of her tattoo business that went up in flames. Which means a grown up, smokin' hot Becks is in his house, sharing meals, and digging up old wounds. And despite his better judgement, the more time he spends with this smart, artistic, incredible woman the more he wants her in his bed—and his future.

Becks always had it bad for Jackson. Unfortunately for her, not much has changed—he's still honorable, hard-working, sexy as sin—and closed off. But there's more than one way to get to a man's heart and if Jackson doesn't want to recall old memories, she'll just have to help him make new ones. Because now that she's found Jackson again, she's not letting him go.

The Review: 4.5 Stars

I am not sure why, perhaps because of the very steamy abs on the cover... but I was expecting a much more passionate story. Instead it is a story of love, lost, and overcoming life's obstacles. Nothing not to love about that, it was great. Just not what I was expecting...

As a former foster kid myself I can tell you all Jaci Burton did a fairly good job representing the whole thing. There are good homes, and there are bad homes. Some kids are runners, some keep giving the system a try until a good home comes along. To some it never does, and to some, like our firefighter brothers, things turn out well in the end! 

The romance was beautifully written. Jackson and Beck are absolutely perfect for each other. They understand each other and complete each other. And let's not forget the chemistry! there is plenty of that between them! 

I really liked Jackson, probably because I related to him on a personal level more than the others... he is hardworking and a protector at heart. 
Becks was also a good hardworking character. A survivor and a fighter. I wanted her to succeed in the end in her business and in her personal life and I am glad she did.

Although this was Becky's and  Jackson's story I have to say that one of my favorite things about it was how much page time all the other awesome characters got as well. I suppose she was setting up the stage for the next books but I do hope she continues to give all the brothers as much page time as here as the series goes on. 

Why not 5 stars? well, Becky was a little too pushy. People with pasts such as theirs are not always ready or want to talk about it and I didn't like how her character would not leave it alone. It made her come across rather whiny and annoying at times. Apart from that, fabulous book and I highly recommend it!

Find the book at: Goodreads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.