Skip to main content

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle [arc review]

In Five Years, Rebecca Serle
This book was everything I didn't know I needed. Amazing does not begin to describe it. We are still in January and I can already tell you this will likely be in my favorites list for 2020. It is easily in par with my favorite from last year!


The Blurb:
Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It’s the same night—December 15—but 2025, five years in the future.

After a very intense, shocking hour, Dannie wakes again, at the brink of midnight, back in 2020. She can’t shake what has happened. It certainly felt much more than merely a dream, but she isn’t the kind of person who believes in visions. That nonsense is only charming coming from free-spirited types, like her lifelong best friend, Bella. Determined to ignore the odd experience, she files it away in the back of her mind.

That is, until four-and-a-half years later, when by chance Dannie meets the very same man from her long-ago vision.

Brimming with joy and heartbreak, In Five Years is an unforgettable love story that reminds us of the power of loyalty, friendship, and the unpredictable nature of destiny.
 

The Review: 5 Glorious Stars

You know, the blurb does not give justice to this little gem. I went in expecting something rather different than what I got. Simply put, I was expecting it to be another romance book. I was also worried there would be cheating (there isn't by the way). For starters, it isn't romance. It is a beautiful, gorgeous and heartbreaking love story between two friends that mean the world to each other. It is a love story between a couple that fits together and is happy with life. But you see, it is not a story about a couple in love, therefore not a romance book. You might not understand it now, but you will as you read the book. Mostly, In five Years is about Dannie and her friend Bella. 

“You mistake love. You think it has to have a future in order to matter, but it doesn't. It's the only thing that does not need to become at all. It matters only insofar as it exists. Here. Now. Love doesn't require a future.”

Dannie has a plan for everything in her life, and until the day she has that vision with a complete stranger, all is going according to plan. She just got the job of her dreams, she in engaged to man she loves, she has her dream apartment. Her fiance Dave has similar dreams, they fit perfectly in each others lives. 

You are probably thinking that it is the vision she had that turns her life upside down, but it isn't. She is distraught of-course but lives goes on. Dannie does not believe in visions. Meeting the man from her vision four and half years down the road is unexpected, but she manages to avoid him a little, that doesn't shake her either. It is Bella, her friend, her sister by heart, the events that unfold between them, and the things that happen to Bella that shake Dannie to her core. That change her and make her reevaluate her life. 

I particularly love that there wasn't an evil character, or a 'bad guy' in this story. We are all imperfect, we all have flaws, an so do all the characters in this book. 

If you have that one friend (or two) that helped shape your life, that helps you whenever you need, that is always there for you and is as much if not more family to you than family itself, then you will understand the bond between Dannie and Bella. But fair warning, you might also ugly cry...

Find the Book at: GoodReads -  Inklings Bookshop 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.