Skip to main content

Through the Darkest Hour (The Chaos Theory Duet Book 2) by Cassandra Giovanni

Into the Darkest Night
Through the Darkest hour
Author Cassandra Giovanni
pics by @glimpses_of_my_books
Romantic suspense kills me (when done well anyway). The need to know the end, to know what happens, and what clues I am missing, drives me CRAZY! And so, it is one of the romance sub-genres I read the least. I genuinely feel like I am giving myself anxiety issues when I do 😅 
All that is to say this little duet was beautifully written and kept me anxious almost the whole way, which a romantic suspense is suppose to do. So if you like romantic suspense, give this little gem a try. The review for the first book is here.

Blurb:

I was sent to save the city.
It turns out I'm the poison that will destroy it.

Sun City is a city divided, eaten away by the corruption of the Elite upper-class who reside in the Gold District. The drugs siphon down into the middle-class White District, killing the dreams of its residents until they end up in poverty-stricken Blue District.
Ana Jacobs has spent the last year of her life atoning for her father's sins and searching for the truth about the Trinity. During the day, she's Sun City's best cop. At night, she becomes Night Hawk, a bow and arrow wielding vigilante who dispatches those within the Trinity's corrupt Inner Circle. Between both worlds, she works to fight her demons.
Years of torture didn't break Ana, but the truth just might. Now, with the burden of how she's tied to the city's death sentence, a new villain places her and all she loves in their sights. She's determined to protect her newfound family, but when she comes face to face with the Nightwatchman, Ana realizes the man she loves is as tangled in the city's lies as she is.
Together, they might be able to save the city -- if only Ana lets Levi in.
But some demons never rest.

This book starts where Into the Darkest Night left off, so you really cannot read one without the other. 
Ana and Levi are together now but their secrets define who they are and if things are to work between them they have to find a way to share those secrets with each other. 
Most of the book focuses on them trying to figure out who is behind the virus and who is en-charge. A little after the half way point I had my suspicions about who it was but it was not obvious, you are still left guessing for quite sometime. 
I really can't say more without spoiling it all for you, so I guess you will just have to give this a try.
One negative? the same I have with almost all suspense books I read, things take a while to happen. But that really is the way the genre is meant to be so it is just a matter of preference and of what you like reading. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.