Skip to main content

Through the Darkest Hour (The Chaos Theory Duet Book 2) by Cassandra Giovanni

Into the Darkest Night
Through the Darkest hour
Author Cassandra Giovanni
pics by @glimpses_of_my_books
Romantic suspense kills me (when done well anyway). The need to know the end, to know what happens, and what clues I am missing, drives me CRAZY! And so, it is one of the romance sub-genres I read the least. I genuinely feel like I am giving myself anxiety issues when I do 😅 
All that is to say this little duet was beautifully written and kept me anxious almost the whole way, which a romantic suspense is suppose to do. So if you like romantic suspense, give this little gem a try. The review for the first book is here.

Blurb:

I was sent to save the city.
It turns out I'm the poison that will destroy it.

Sun City is a city divided, eaten away by the corruption of the Elite upper-class who reside in the Gold District. The drugs siphon down into the middle-class White District, killing the dreams of its residents until they end up in poverty-stricken Blue District.
Ana Jacobs has spent the last year of her life atoning for her father's sins and searching for the truth about the Trinity. During the day, she's Sun City's best cop. At night, she becomes Night Hawk, a bow and arrow wielding vigilante who dispatches those within the Trinity's corrupt Inner Circle. Between both worlds, she works to fight her demons.
Years of torture didn't break Ana, but the truth just might. Now, with the burden of how she's tied to the city's death sentence, a new villain places her and all she loves in their sights. She's determined to protect her newfound family, but when she comes face to face with the Nightwatchman, Ana realizes the man she loves is as tangled in the city's lies as she is.
Together, they might be able to save the city -- if only Ana lets Levi in.
But some demons never rest.

This book starts where Into the Darkest Night left off, so you really cannot read one without the other. 
Ana and Levi are together now but their secrets define who they are and if things are to work between them they have to find a way to share those secrets with each other. 
Most of the book focuses on them trying to figure out who is behind the virus and who is en-charge. A little after the half way point I had my suspicions about who it was but it was not obvious, you are still left guessing for quite sometime. 
I really can't say more without spoiling it all for you, so I guess you will just have to give this a try.
One negative? the same I have with almost all suspense books I read, things take a while to happen. But that really is the way the genre is meant to be so it is just a matter of preference and of what you like reading. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b