Skip to main content

Into the Darkest Night (The Chaos Theory Duet Book 1) by Cassandra Giovanni [arc review]

Hello Sunnies!
I just finished this glorious romantic suspense and I am sitting here questioning myself on why I don't read them more often. I really them but for some reason they do not make into my house as often as all other romance sub-genres. Anyway... this was fab! I knew nothing about the author going in and now I want to know everything! hehe
Blurb:
I was born a child of the Elite; destined to live a life of privilege in Sun City. 
With one decision I gave it all up. 

Ana Jacobs knows the Elite and their depravity all too well. She was one of them once. Her father was a member of the Inner Circle and head of the Trinity funding the corruption of Sun City. When he learned she knew the names of those he'd hidden so well, he turned his back on her; had her kidnapped and tortured to protect his secrets. 

When she escapes the island and learns of her father’s death at the hands of a knife-wielding vigilante called the Nightwatchman, she returns to Sun City, vowing to use her knowledge to protect the city. As a city cop, she blends into the background, and no one suspects her real motives. 

Levi Bennett knows where Ana’s been. He's also an Elite, but where Ana was sent to the island, he ended up there by accident. While Ana buries herself in her work and stopping the flow of illegal drugs and weapons into the poverty-stricken Blue District, Levi covers his pain by partying and spending his trust fund on buying bars and restaurants. 

Thrown together by Levi’s constant pressing of the limits, the two can’t deny the connection they share through their dark pasts. 

Their demons are one in the same, but some demons can’t be tamed. 


Levi and Ana have been through hell and back. Their past in the island shaped them in the people they are today- full of scars and secrets. They have both built walls around their hearts and found ways to cope with the memories of the island they were trapped in.

From the very begging it is clear that both of them are hiding something. But even with secrets and the fear of what that will do to them they can't help the attraction between them or the overpowering need to be around someone that understands them. They don't have to pretend to be someone they are not around each other, they can just be. 

I loved both main characters. They were well written and well thought out. It was easy to feel a certain connection and sympathy for both of them. 

Now let's talk about that ending without talking about the ending... LOL 
I knew it was gonna happen, it was pretty obvious. But boy it annoyed me when it did. I turned the page expecting more and there was nothing.... 
*scream in anguish*
When is the next book out? I NEEEEED!!!

The book only loses a point because it took me a little while to get into it, it took me a while to understand what was happening or had happened to Ana. I feel like there is a prequel somewhere that I should have read and didn't. 

Go Read sunnies

Release date: September 18 2018
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.