Skip to main content

Soulfire (Nightwing #1) by Juliette Cross

Every now and than we all discover new authors that we can't help but love. Juliette Cross has been this author for me this year. I have absolutely loved everything I have read from her so far. This was no different!
I guess it helps her books have my biggest PNR weaknesses: dragons (shifters or hybrids my usual go to) and demons.
About a month ago I read and reviewed her latest new release Darkest Heart and I thought for sure that would be my favorite work by her. It was paranormal romance, but it also had depth. 
Soulfire is nothing like Darkest Heart. It is just a feel good PNR! And I LOVED it for it! My brain wants me to sit here and say I preferred Darkest Heart, there is 'more' to it. A grittiness you won't find in Soulfire. But my heart sings Soulfire! Can't help it... It was such an easy breezy lovely read about two souls from two different worlds that just are meant to be. 
*SWOON* 
Than swoon some more...hehe 

The Blurb (better late than never 🤣):
In a world divided by prejudice and hatred, only love can bridge the chasm.

Tensions are rising in the Gladium Province. The boundary between humans and Morgons has begun to blur. While the human aristocracy strives to maintain distance between their daughters and the dragon-hybrid race, fate has other plans.

As the daughter of the corporate king, Jessen Cade is duty-bound to honor her arranged marriage to a man she detests. Feeling trapped by family duty and a loveless future, she longs for more, straying to the Morgon side of the city.

Lucius Nightwing is the eldest son of the powerful Morgon clan, and the greatest enemy of Jessen’s father. When a bar-room brawl thrusts Jessen into his arms, his dragon roars to the surface, craving to sate his carnal hunger in the brown-eyed beauty. The beast in Lucius recognizes her as his own, even if the man refuses to admit the truth.

What else can I say about it? Lets see... Lucius! He had me at hello. 
Lucius is danger itself. Unless you want to be dead it is really for the best not to provoke the guy. And yet, he also had a vulnerable side that will give you a case of butterflies! 
Jessen is feisty and doesn't agree with the prejudice of her world. She was likable and the kind of character you want to be friends with instantly.

Needless to say, I think you should all go and read Soulfire!
5 million beautiful stars to the beautiful Juliette who is slowly but SURELY becoming one of my all time favorite PNR writers!

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.