Skip to main content

Nightblood by Elly Blake

Today is a bitter sweet day... I couldn't wait for this book, and now that I have finished reading it I am undoubtedly sad it is over. It was an awesome ride! 
Ruby, Arcus, and Kai together with the secondary characters were all amazing and it is sad this is the end of their journey. Kai deserves a story of his own for sure. This series has a special place in my heart and will definitely be worth a reread someday.
Blurb:
Ruby's world has changed more than she ever could have imagined. She's in love with a powerful Frost King. She's the heir to the Fire Throne. And she may be a Nightblood--the spawn of a vengeful deity hellbent on releasing his wraithlike Minax from their prison. Once freed, these beasts will roam the earth, devouring every last person until he or she is nothing but an empty husk. But Ruby is able to control the Minax to a degree, and now she, her beloved Arcus, and her friend Kai must find a way to bring Frostbloods and Firebloods--sworn enemies--together to make a stand against a foe more deadly than any they've faced.

Book Review- 4.5 Stars 

Let's start with my favorite part: Ruby and Arcus! 
They have both grown so much since the first book and their relationship is so solid now. They deserved a happy ending after everything they went through. 
It was wonderful to be part of their getting to know each other better, learn to give each other space, help each other in time of need, learn to control their jealousness, and learn to trust each other fully... They have come along way from the first book.

Nightblood is no doubt the most stressful book in the series. Ruby fights to control herself and the Mina'x dark influence the whole way through. Most of the time she succeeds, but not always. Although Ruby's character starts off in Frostblood as just another 'Mary-sue' type, there is much more to her character. In the end, she felt real. When she finally gave in to the Minax I can honestly say in her shoes most of us would have done that too. 

Arcus was a swoon worthy as ever. That man is rigid and serious as most frostbloods, but every time he lets as see a glimpse of his feelings its impossible not to fall in love with him more and more. I felt like screaming into the book 'We feel yah Ruby!' hehe
All he wants to do is to see Ruby safe and at the same time keep his people safe, he wants to be a good king. 
I feel on the fence about his ending, I am not a fan of authors that do what Elly Blake did here (you can ask me if you want to know, otherwise is a big spoiler). But at the same time I kind of understand why it was needed...

Kai is wonderful and I appreciate his character a lot. That being said, there were times he made things very difficult for Ruby. He was trying to help her, but often his playful personality caused issues between Arcus and her. I would love nothing more than a book for him. He deserves a happy ending too. He was loyal and brought us a smile from beginning to end. 

Overall a great series and my heart is in true pain as I write these final words... as much as I wanted to read the last book it feels horrible having to say goodbye to these amazing characters.

Go Read!

Find the book at: 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation