Skip to main content

The Chef by Xavier Neal [arc review]

Hello sunnies :)
I have been reading so much romance lately! Its cray cray
Can't stop - won't stop though. I'm loving it.
And that brings us to The Chef by Xavier Neal. I always ALWAYS read romance books with chefs. Having been one myself for 13 years I love seeing how original and accurate the authors can be. 



Blurb:
Wyatt

My entire existence begins and ends with food.

It gives me purpose.

It gives me peace.

It gives me pleasure.

Or it did before my best friend's little sister tempted me into taking a taste of the forbidden.

Spoiled me with her flavors.

Slaved my senses.

Now, the only thing I love more than my career as the "Charming Chef" is the one woman I know I'm not supposed to want.

Julez

After being ripped from everything I knew and everyone I loved, I realized just how truly short life can be.

How people don't take enough risks.

How people don't treat life like an adventure.

How people hide who they are.

While I've learned to embrace what most people fear, I've also taught myself the art of keeping others at a safe distance.

Yet, one secret moment with my brother's best friend, and all I want is for him to come closer.

To touch me.

To take me.

To love me...

I know the danger that comes with getting attached to someone, but I'd rather die happy than live forever without him.




3.75 Stars

Although this book can be read as a stand alone it will help you not hate Julia's brother if you have read his book. He can come across as a jerk if you haven't had the opportunity to read his story and learn to love him first.

Julia and Wyatt are very similar people. They are both very passionate about what they do and they are both a little wild, the way they meet shows you exactly how wild! Don't worry, you won't have to wait long, that happens on the very first page.

Overall this was a great story. Julia is both strong and vulnerable, the confidence she has on her work she doesn't really with her family because of her past. Wyatt encourages her to change that, makes her happy. And she in turn makes him want to be better, to settle, to love, and to also fix his relationship with his family.

So why not 5 stars?
I can't believe I am saying this... but... too much sexy time! It seriously got in the way of the plot. I needed more time to connect to Julez and Wyatt and more scenes to cement their chemistry. When the book was over I really liked it, but it also left me with a feeling that there was something missing.

Find the Book at: GoodReads - Amazon

A huge thanks to Social Butterfly for the ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

All the series can be read as Standalone Novels
Free in Kindle Unlimited
The Substitute – mybook.to/TheSubXN
The Hacker – mybook.to/TheHackerXN
The Suit – mybook.to/TheSuit

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation