Skip to main content

The Bromance Book Club (Bromance Book Club #1) by Lyssa Kay Adams

The Bromance Book Club, Lyssa Adams.
Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
I don't buy books all that often unless I go to signing events. I actually still have two piles from the last two events I attended. But, I did go and purchase this one. I liked the premise, it is original. How many books out there with a male only book club? it promised to be funny and entertaining. Did it deliver though? Guess you will have to read the review to find out :)

Blurb:
The first rule of book club: You don't talk about book club.

Nashville Legends second baseman Gavin Scott's marriage is in major league trouble. He’s recently discovered a humiliating secret: his wife Thea has always faked the Big O. When he loses his cool at the revelation, it’s the final straw on their already strained relationship. Thea asks for a divorce, and Gavin realizes he’s let his pride and fear get the better of him.

Welcome to the Bromance Book Club.


Distraught and desperate, Gavin finds help from an unlikely source: a secret romance book club made up of Nashville's top alpha men. With the help of their current read, a steamy Regency titled Courting the Countess, the guys coach Gavin on saving his marriage. But it'll take a lot more than flowery words and grand gestures for this hapless Romeo to find his inner hero and win back the trust of his wife.

The Review: 3 Stars

Did it deliver? yes and no. It started really well. It was different, the group of boys was entertaining, it was obvious there would be no cheating (which is something a lot of readers don't like), the main male character was clearly suffering and it was easy to feel bad for him and therefore relate...

The problems begin when this 'other book' starts. We don't just learn about the book the boys are reading, we get to read it too. Although a book within a book sounds fun, the fact that they are two completely different genres made it all a tad annoying. Bromance Book Club is contemporary romcom, they book they are reading is historical romance. Going back and forwards between genres wasn't pleasant, and if you are a reader that does not like historical romance that will be even more frustrating for you.

I genuinely loved Gavin. He is clueless but he is trying his best to fix his wrongs and fix his marriage. At no point he was an ass just for the sake of it. He apologized when needed, he was kind, helpful, loving, and a great father. While trying to fix his wrongs he made more mistakes, he is human after all, but he always apologized. He tried to do and be better and he succeeded. 
His friends are hilarious. Their conversations and meetings were very entertaining reads. From the loyal friend who has struggled in the past to the single guy who thinks he can do no wrong but obviously has a heart of gold, the boys were lovely.

The other problem in the book though were the female characters. All, no exceptions, drove me insane. Thea is not a bad person and I didn't flat out hated her, but I didn't understand her either. At times she was rather inconsiderate to him and even to her own kids. It is obvious she still loves him, and yet, she makes things even harder just for the sake of it. Yah, it is fiction, but even in fiction if you are writing a contemporary book it needs to make sense. And her sister? kill me now. I am not reading the next book. Liv I did despise. She was against her sisters happiness all the way and not because Gavin was a bad person but because she was jealous of their relationship. Say what? I pass.

Anyway, the book was good and I finished with a smile on my face. But obviously it also had faults and they weren't small inconsequential things. 

What did you think? Find me on IG and let's chat :)

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation