Skip to main content

Q&A with Abigail Owen, author of The Rogue King (Inferno Rising Series)

The Rogue King, Abigail Owen
It has been a very busy month here and not much reading was done. But the Romance Book Club I run for the store still going strong and the fabulous Abigail Owen has agreed to let me share our Book Club questions with the world!

Have fun getting to know this fabulous writer, we sure did! :)


- What got you into writing?
I’m not sure there was any one point of inspiration. I’ve always been a writer. In 4th grade I place second in a school essay contest. Maybe that gave me the bug to keep going. But there have always been stories in my head that wanted to come out. I wrote short stories all through grade school and Junior High. I stopped in high school thanks to mean girl teasing, and finally picked it back up in my twenties, though I didn’t finish my first book until my thirties when I wrote my first paranormal romance, Blue Violet.

- When you are not writing what genre do you enjoy reading? And do you have a ’go-to’ author?
First and foremost I’m a romance junky. I can read books without romance, but usually I need a good love story to really lock me in. Paranormal romance and any combo thereof is hands down my favorite genre, but I actually love every subgenre of romance and every heat level. In addition to romance I’m a fan of fantasy, scifi, and some action/adventure novels. I also enjoy classics (but not most classic American authors sorry).

- What was the inspiration behind The Rogue King?
The Rogue King was originally going to be a novella in my series now called Brimstone. Each book in the series is a different type of supernatural creature. This one was going to be phoenix and a dragon shifter because that seemed like a fun combination. It started with that. But when I began writing it, the story was too big for a single novella, needing its own huge world with a lot of books. Now the original series is set in this dragon shifter world and not the other way around.

- Who was your favorite character to write and why?
I love the strong, silent, possibly not so good, hero. I find them fun to write, sexy as hell, and easy to torture when the heroine is a sassy foil for their grumpiness. So Brand was a hoot to put on paper. I saw him in my head before I saw anyone else.

- How about favorite scene?
My favorite scene is when Kasia steals Brand’s car to escape him and he has to track her down. I loved writing that scene, so clear in my head. It showed their personalities so well, made me laugh to picture his reaction, especially knowing what that car means to him, and I got to write a dragon shifting for the first time. Love that scene!

- Why Dragons? Not that I am complaining, I am rather obsessed with them
I love shifters to start with. The idea of being able to tap into the power and abilities of incredible creatures. Dragons, to my mind, are the most terrifying, magical and fascinating creatures that fly and control fire. Is there anything cooler?

- Page 250. What made you go in that direction?
Ahaha. So, in an early incarnation of the books, Kasia’s migraines when she lit on fire were actually orgasms that she couldn’t get to on her own, only with Brand’s help, but my publisher decided that was a little too hot and we made the change. But we kept most of the…errr…kissing. 😉

- Do you have other books on the works?
Tons! I find the more I write, the more ideas I get.  There are 3 more books coming in the Inferno Rising series which each of the phoenix sisters and kings. The companion/crossover Fire’s Edge series has at least 2 more stories coming. We’ve now set what used to be my Legendary Consultants series—now called Brimstone—in the dragon shifter world with the first 3 stories being rereleased this year and then more new stories coming starting this fall. Lots to do! 😊

Abigail Owen
Multi-award-winning paranormal romance author, Abigail Owen, loves plots that move hot and fast, feisty heroines with sass, alpha heroes with heart, a dash of snark, and oodles of sexy shifters! Other titles include wife, mother, Star Wars geek, ex-competitive skydiver, spreadsheet lover, Dr. Seuss quoter, eMBA, organizational guru, Texan, Aggie, and chocoholic.

Abigail grew up consuming books and exploring the world through her writing. She attempted to find a practical career related to her favorite pastime by earning a degree in English Rhetoric (Technical Writing). However, she swiftly discovered that writing without imagination is not nearly as fun as writing with it. She currently resides in Austin, Texas, with her own personal hero, her husband, and their two children, who are growing up way too fast.

Abigail also writes award-winning contemporary romance under the name Kadie Scott.

For her latest news and exclusive excerpts, sign up for her newsletter here!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation