Skip to main content

Crave by Tracy Wolff [arc review]

Crave was everything you would expect from an young adult paranormal romance with vampires. Remember years ago when that was popular? I guess Renee Ahidieh with Beautiful and now Tracy Wolff with Crave are trying to bring it back. I don't know about you, but I am all in for it!

Crave, Tracy Wolf f

Blurb:

My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy. Nothing is right about this place or the other students in it. Here I am, a mere mortal among gods…or monsters. I still can’t decide which of these warring factions I belong to, if I belong at all. I only know the one thing that unites them is their hatred of me.


Then there’s Jaxon Vega. A vampire with deadly secrets who hasn’t felt anything for a hundred years. But there’s something about him that calls to me, something broken in him that somehow fits with what’s broken in me.

Which could spell death for us all.

Because Jaxon walled himself off for a reason. And now someone wants to wake a sleeping monster, and I’m wondering if I was brought here intentionally—as the bait.



The Review: 4 Stars

There were a lot of great things in this little book. The chapter headers had me laughing the whole way. 

"Knock, Knock, Knocking on Death's Door"

"Turns Out the Devil Wears Gucci"

And those were not the only humorous moments!

"Twilight? He sent me a copy of Twilight?"

I mean, come one... The book as whole is a mix up of Twilight, Vampire Diaries, and Vampire Academy. So that had me laughing loudly in my office. Oh the irony...

And on that note, if you didn't/don't like that sort of cheesiness just stay away. Crave is exactly that. The comparison to the books I mentioned before would make a long list! 

Grace is exactly what you would expect from a heroine in these type of books. She is the special snow flake that lost everyone and is trying to start over. Differently than most though she knows she is missing something from the beginning, she knows there are secrets being kept from her and is not all that surprise when faced with them. She also has some back bone, which made her character interactions with Jaxon fun to read.

Jaxon Vega is in turn some of what you would expect too. He is the misunderstood bad boy. Powerful like no other, feared by most. A total mush when in love :) And he falls hard for our girl. 

The plot moved at a slow pace. The book is looooong... The pace didn't bother me though, I liked her writing and in way would have read even more. The main reason for it being a 4 and not 5 is the ending. This book was long enough and had a good enough plot to be a stand alone. That twist in the end was frustrating and unnecessary. Will I read the next one? Likely. But if it drags because the story was fully told in the first book I will not be kind when writing the review. So I guess we will have to wait and see what happens. 

All in all, if you love some wonderful vampire young adult cheesiness, READ it! Definitely one of the best ones since it was popular years ago. 

Release Date: April 7th, 2020
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.