Skip to main content

Crave by Tracy Wolff [arc review]

Crave was everything you would expect from an young adult paranormal romance with vampires. Remember years ago when that was popular? I guess Renee Ahidieh with Beautiful and now Tracy Wolff with Crave are trying to bring it back. I don't know about you, but I am all in for it!

Crave, Tracy Wolf f

Blurb:

My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy. Nothing is right about this place or the other students in it. Here I am, a mere mortal among gods…or monsters. I still can’t decide which of these warring factions I belong to, if I belong at all. I only know the one thing that unites them is their hatred of me.


Then there’s Jaxon Vega. A vampire with deadly secrets who hasn’t felt anything for a hundred years. But there’s something about him that calls to me, something broken in him that somehow fits with what’s broken in me.

Which could spell death for us all.

Because Jaxon walled himself off for a reason. And now someone wants to wake a sleeping monster, and I’m wondering if I was brought here intentionally—as the bait.



The Review: 4 Stars

There were a lot of great things in this little book. The chapter headers had me laughing the whole way. 

"Knock, Knock, Knocking on Death's Door"

"Turns Out the Devil Wears Gucci"

And those were not the only humorous moments!

"Twilight? He sent me a copy of Twilight?"

I mean, come one... The book as whole is a mix up of Twilight, Vampire Diaries, and Vampire Academy. So that had me laughing loudly in my office. Oh the irony...

And on that note, if you didn't/don't like that sort of cheesiness just stay away. Crave is exactly that. The comparison to the books I mentioned before would make a long list! 

Grace is exactly what you would expect from a heroine in these type of books. She is the special snow flake that lost everyone and is trying to start over. Differently than most though she knows she is missing something from the beginning, she knows there are secrets being kept from her and is not all that surprise when faced with them. She also has some back bone, which made her character interactions with Jaxon fun to read.

Jaxon Vega is in turn some of what you would expect too. He is the misunderstood bad boy. Powerful like no other, feared by most. A total mush when in love :) And he falls hard for our girl. 

The plot moved at a slow pace. The book is looooong... The pace didn't bother me though, I liked her writing and in way would have read even more. The main reason for it being a 4 and not 5 is the ending. This book was long enough and had a good enough plot to be a stand alone. That twist in the end was frustrating and unnecessary. Will I read the next one? Likely. But if it drags because the story was fully told in the first book I will not be kind when writing the review. So I guess we will have to wait and see what happens. 

All in all, if you love some wonderful vampire young adult cheesiness, READ it! Definitely one of the best ones since it was popular years ago. 

Release Date: April 7th, 2020
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Inklings Bookshop 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation