Skip to main content

Undone (Start Up in the City #3) by Kelly Rimmer [arc review]

I wrote this review a few times and stopped. Why? Because I love Kelly Rimmer's books and yet, this just didn't work for me. It is such a horrible feeling having to sit down and write a not so positive review for a writer you love. Oh well... it needs to be done...

Blurb:
The only vow she’s ever been prepared to make is not to say “I do”

Running a major tech company without breaking a sweat? No problem. But being bridesmaid at her best friend’s wedding is giving Jess Cohen a bad case of the jitters. Maybe that’s because she’ll have to face the groom’s brother, Jake—the man she’s been avoiding for the last two years. Jake, who Jess dumped mercilessly, unable to tell him the truth about her past. Jake, who’s loyal, loving and all wrong for someone who refuses to be tied down. If only Jess’s heart could remember that.

Jake Winton spent four months secretly dating Jess, and the past two years trying—and failing—to forget her. He’d been ready to propose, convinced Jess was every bit as in love with him as he was with her. Now he’s sure their connection is still there, sizzling and undeniable. Whatever she’s holding back, he can handle—if only she’ll trust him with her secrets, her fears and her heart.

The Review: 2 Stars

This will be brief. I don't like prolonging torture and this is torture to me. Undone had great potential but it didn't deal with trauma well. Although I understand Jess's reasons for being careful and scared she goes way too far. Her actions were confusing and hard to understand. In the end of the day, she used Jake like a dirty rag. There is really no polite way of describing her actions. 
For a while that was ok, it hard to get over the things she went through. It is more than ok that she didn't want to get married, it is her life and her choice. It is more than ok that she didn't want to have kids and having him say he does scared her away. As awful as it was the way she first ended things with him, it was understandable. Everything after that was not. She used him, plain and simple. When I didn't feel like shouting at her I felt like putting the book down and giving up. The whole time I read this I was either angry or rolling my eyes in frustration and boredoom. 

Jake's character was boring. There is nothing to him. He is Mr Nice Guy through and through and gets used and abused by Jess again and again. And he lets her of-course. The guy has no spine. And the ending? So unrealistic. 

I will read whatever this fabulous writer comes out with next, she IS amazing. This sadly just wasn't my cup of tea...

Find the Book at: GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.