Skip to main content

Undone (Start Up in the City #3) by Kelly Rimmer [arc review]

I wrote this review a few times and stopped. Why? Because I love Kelly Rimmer's books and yet, this just didn't work for me. It is such a horrible feeling having to sit down and write a not so positive review for a writer you love. Oh well... it needs to be done...

Blurb:
The only vow she’s ever been prepared to make is not to say “I do”

Running a major tech company without breaking a sweat? No problem. But being bridesmaid at her best friend’s wedding is giving Jess Cohen a bad case of the jitters. Maybe that’s because she’ll have to face the groom’s brother, Jake—the man she’s been avoiding for the last two years. Jake, who Jess dumped mercilessly, unable to tell him the truth about her past. Jake, who’s loyal, loving and all wrong for someone who refuses to be tied down. If only Jess’s heart could remember that.

Jake Winton spent four months secretly dating Jess, and the past two years trying—and failing—to forget her. He’d been ready to propose, convinced Jess was every bit as in love with him as he was with her. Now he’s sure their connection is still there, sizzling and undeniable. Whatever she’s holding back, he can handle—if only she’ll trust him with her secrets, her fears and her heart.

The Review: 2 Stars

This will be brief. I don't like prolonging torture and this is torture to me. Undone had great potential but it didn't deal with trauma well. Although I understand Jess's reasons for being careful and scared she goes way too far. Her actions were confusing and hard to understand. In the end of the day, she used Jake like a dirty rag. There is really no polite way of describing her actions. 
For a while that was ok, it hard to get over the things she went through. It is more than ok that she didn't want to get married, it is her life and her choice. It is more than ok that she didn't want to have kids and having him say he does scared her away. As awful as it was the way she first ended things with him, it was understandable. Everything after that was not. She used him, plain and simple. When I didn't feel like shouting at her I felt like putting the book down and giving up. The whole time I read this I was either angry or rolling my eyes in frustration and boredoom. 

Jake's character was boring. There is nothing to him. He is Mr Nice Guy through and through and gets used and abused by Jess again and again. And he lets her of-course. The guy has no spine. And the ending? So unrealistic. 

I will read whatever this fabulous writer comes out with next, she IS amazing. This sadly just wasn't my cup of tea...

Find the Book at: GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation