Skip to main content

Not That Kind of Guy by Andie J. Christopher [arc review]

I finished it.
Blurb:
An office attraction becomes something more when they're off the clock in this delightful romantic comedy by the USA Today bestselling author of Not the Girl You Marry.

State attorney Bridget Nolan is successful in all aspects of her life--except romance. After breaking up with her longtime boyfriend, she's been slow to reenter the dating scene. To be honest, she has more important things to do like putting bad guys behind bars. But with her brother's wedding right around the corner, she suddenly needs a date and fast. Lucky for Bridget, the legal intern is almost done with his program.

Matt Kido is dumbstruck by Bridget--total love at first sight--but there's one problem. She's totally off-limits while she's his boss. But the moment he no longer reports to her, Matt asks her on a date. An impulsive decision takes them to Las Vegas where, as the saying goes, what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas.

Unless you put a ring on it.
 

The Review: 2 Stars

If you are wondering why the intro to this review only has 3 words you can stop now.  It only has 3 words because that was all I could come up with.
The book wasn't so bad that I couldn't finish it. But I did not love it enough to have much more than that to say about it either.
Honestly I don't know why I finished it. It was so... Mediocre. Average. Boring. 
It wasn't bad. But it wasn't good. There was nothing in its 323 pages to make it special.
 
Chris, the ex boyfriend, took more page space than most characters. How many times can you tell the same break up story? About half way through the book I started skipping every time his name was mentioned. It got repetitive. 

Bridget is meant to be this strong, independent, and powerful lawyer. Yet, we get to see her in action once, with a perv judge. How disappointing...

Matt was ok. If you like your nice guys he is it. There is nothing bad about him, but nothing exciting either. He is just a nice guy. Forgettable. 

There is also an issue with abortion. Some books readers will rally behind it. Some will cringe or even hate it. And some, like me, will find it unnecessary. It was uncomfortable to read. I pass. 

And last but not least, it was like reading 3 bad soap operas at once. There is the evil mother, the evil ex girlfriend, the evil ex boyfriend, the awkward family, the unnecessary plot twist...

The book as a whole was dull. 
I can't say I recommend this one. That being said, there is a book for everyone, and many out there are loving it. Maybe read some of those reviews before taking my word for it. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation