Skip to main content

The Kissing Game by Marie Harte

The Kissing Game, Marie Harte
The Kissing Game by Marie Harte was the book picked for my romance book for May. I don't often pick books I have not read before but this looked and sounded so cute I could not resist. I just had to give it a chance. I am glad I did. It had me smiling rather often!

The Blurb:

"I bet you a kiss you can't resist me."


Game on.

Rena Jackson is ready. She's worked her tail off to open up her own hair salon, and she's almost ready to quit her job at the dive bar. Rena's also a diehard romantic, and she's had her eye on bar regular Axel Heller for a while. He's got that tall-dark-and-handsome thing going big time. Problem is, he's got that buttoned-up Germanic ice man thing going as well. With Valentine's Day just around the corner, Rena's about ready to give up on Axel and find her own Mr. Right.

At six foot six, Axel knows he intimidates most people. He's been crushing on the gorgeous waitress for months. But the muscled mechanic is no romantic, and his heart is buried so deep, he has no idea how to show Rena what he feels. He knows he's way out of his depth and she's slipping away. So, he makes one crazy, desperate play... 


The Review: 4 Stars

The thing that surprised me the most prior to starting the book was the amount of bad reviews. Did you all read the same book I did? Are you sure? Usually I am sitting here having to write: "why on earth did you all like that?". I am SO EXCITED to be able to the opposite for once :) The Kissing Game was adorable! Perfect? nope. But who cares? I would read it again! 

First of all we got the Giant, the Ice-Viking, the Prince Charming of my dreams, Alex Heller! The guy is not easy to love or to understand at first. But boy I dare you not to love him or at least sympathize with him by the end. He knows he has issues, he does no cower from them, and when faced with the reality he could lose Rena if he doesn't at least try to fix things he goes to find help. Perfection. 

Rena has a big family. Friends that are loud and on your business the whole time. The kind of family you say you hate but could not imagine life without. She is also very sure of herself. I liked that about her. I thought she was a little silly giving Axel the cold shoulder to start, but he proved himself and she accepted that. 

There was also some tension with a racist group that brought another dimension to the story. It helped expose exactly how dangerous Axel could be if not in check. 

Books that deal with racism, specially if the person that wrote it is not black tend to get a little of a beating. Sadly, I think that's the case here. Axel got referred as 'tall, dark and handsome'. The internet is going mad because he is German and blond. One, people make mistakes; Two, anyone considered that maybe dark referred to his dark and dangerous personality rather than skin color? As a mixed race girl that could pass for both (black dad, white mum), I ain't offended and I don't care. 

The book is fun, the German words add a cute aspect to it- he was not born speaking English, so why not?-, their romance was different, his valentines gifts were all so wrong and all so hilarious...
I read it in two sittings. Someday I might read again!

Go Read Sunnies :) 

Find the book at: Goodreads - Inklings Bookshop 

In support to indie stores who are struggling right now no Amazon link will be added. The indie store above IS offering free shipping at this time! Give them a helping hand! Thanks :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation