Skip to main content

Shift Out of Luck (Brimstone Inc. #2) by Abigail Owen

Abigail Owen was a new author to me last year. I was given a copy of The Rogue King and fell in love. So much so I added her book to my local book club list (Q&A with Abigail here). So of-course, when I saw this beauty I just had to read it. It was paranormal romance heaven! What pnr lover does not enjoy a good shifter story?


The Blurb:
The Montagues and Capulets have nothing on the Canis and Banes wolf packs. The two have been feuding for ages. The brutal murder of the Banes’ alpha only added fuel to the fire. And now there’s only one way to bring peace—the current alphas of each pack, Marrok and Tala, need a mating of convenience.

Tala has her doubts. A thousand of them.

Never mind that Marrok drives her body to levels of desire her vibrator has trouble keeping up with. If she can’t get her inner wolf—or her people—on board, forget peace, because she'll lose the tenuous control she has over the Canis pack. Her new mate is just so damn alpha. He’d better learn to play nice or Tala will have to show him who’s boss.

But Marrok has plans of his own, and nothing and no one, not even Tala herself, can resist an alpha...

This novella was previously self published as The Worse for Were but has undergone a complete re-edit. Scenes were added, things were changed, but the kissing still remains!
 


The review: 4 Stars

After two terrible books in a row (I didn't even bother writing reviews) it feels wonderful to read a winner!

Shift out of Luck was a short fun read that I will undoubtedly read again someday. 
Two alpha shifters need to lead together two pacts that hate each other. What could possibly go wrong? Well, for one, their inner wolves might not like the other being en-charge all that much... 
Tala and Marrok can be described in similar terms. They are both loyal, strong and hard working alphas that will do anything to protect their packs. The chemistry between them was sizzling! 
The dynamic between the two main characters is what I enjoyed the most about this little novella. I am very fond of my over protective and overbearing alphas and having two of them, together, made for a interesting read. The little twist in the end, the reason why Tala's wolf was being an ass was pure perfection. That was a moment of brilliance in Abigail's part. I am sure some readers saw it coming, I DID NOT. It was unexpected, a "duh that should have been obvious" moment, and therefore perfect. 

All in all I cannot find fault with this little gem! 
Find the book at: GoodReads



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation