Skip to main content

Passion and Ink (Sweetest Taboo #2) by Naima Simone

I loved Sin and Ink - the first book in the  Sweetest Taboo series - and was really looking forward to this one. I am happy to say it was even better than the first book! I am not one to get emotional reading, I got emotional... This story was full of passion and heart. 


Blurb:
Blackballed from my job.
Moved back to my hometown with my tail between my legs and family issues crushing my back.
Slinging drinks in a dive bar.
Yes, the past year has been hell. So when a man who’s temptation wrapped in golden skin and sin offers me one night of no-holds barred, dirty sex, I’m all in. I deserve it.
But now those few unforgettable hours have me facing blackmail from my own father: He'll pay for my mom's medical bills, but only if I never again touch the man who has quickly become my obsession.
Because the man? My obsession?
He’s my stepbrother.
The Review: 5 Stars and than some more...

A little over a year ago I discovered Naima Simone. It was one of those 'that cover looks hot' moments. I liked the blurb and read the book. The very next day I went online and ordered 3 more of her books. I loved them all. Than I decided I should give my tbr a chance and not go buy everything she has ever written. Obviously that was a mistake. Naima was kind enough to send me a copy of yet another masterpiece by her, Scoring the wrong Twin, and once again I had to go online afterwards and order another book by her, Passion and Ink. If you've been following me for a while you know I try to stick to paperbacks in order to keep my tbr in check. Well, I turned my kindle on, after at least a year off, for Naima! And I don't regret it one tiny little bit. It was epic, it was wonderful, it was all I needed and more. And after I write this, I might have to go and order the rest of the books in the other series...

The blurb for this beauty does not give it justice. Passion and Ink is hot, incendiary, scorching...! The chemistry between the main characters is undeniable. Naima Simone is obviously a master of her craft. There are erotica books out there, and than there are Naima Simone erotica. Two very different things. Passion and Ink had soul people, soul!!! 

Cypress is in Chicago after her old boss tried to put a move on her (and that is putting it mildly). She is in a tight spot financially and needs her father's help. In the meantime she is working at a bar. Enters in Jude. The attraction and chemistry between them was obvious from the very beginning. That combined with the family drama between their families, the slight taboo (step brother), the bond between the brothers, and the many sensitive topics Naima touched in this book made for one incredible story. 
Naima writes her characters in such a way that is impossible not to connect with them. I felt Jude's pain. There is a moment more towards the end between him and his brother Knox (book 1) that will be unforgettable to me. It was so touching and beautifully written. I couldn't help but reread it. 

I seriously could write a 10 page long review on this one. Passion and Ink touches so many heavy subjects: obsession, death, abuse... but I think that if I do that I will be giving too much of the story away. So this few lines will have to do. 
I cannot recommend this series enough and I cannot wait for what she comes out with next.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation