Skip to main content

Back in the Texan's Bed by Naima Simone [arc review]

Will they ever learn…

that giving in to desire is playing with fire?After discovering he has a secret son, oil heir Ross Edmond isn’t letting Charlotte Jarrett walk away again. He proposes they move in together—to share their son…and a bed. But Charlotte has secrets, and Ross doesn’t know the real reason his family’s former chef left town three years ago—and they still have a powerful enemy who could bring them both down…

I am at a loss for words. I have no idea how to review this one... do you have a trope you hate?! I do- babies/kids in romance books. There is NOTHING romantic about them. Nada. Maybe if you've never been a mum?! Anyways, I know thats a trope many of you love, just ain't for me. BUT, its Naima... and she writes gold. She also makes this non book crier cry every f***ing time. So I was pretty sure I wouldn't love this one but it would be good. And most importantly,  it wouldn't get me teary... Famous last words 😅🤣 Go read it. And when you get about 70% in get tissues. You might need it. I still don't like the baby trope, but f*** my life... this woman... she writes gold sunnies. Gold!!!! 
It's a very short book, so it felt a little rushed at times, but overall it had a great romance and the main characters had great chemistry. 
3.5 out of 5?! 
4 if you like kids in books? 
4.5 if that is YOUR favorite trope? 
Its all a matter of perspective 🤷‍♀️😊

Release Date: February 9th, 2021 
Find the book at: Inklings Bookshop

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.