Skip to main content

Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith - 4/5 stars

This was such a cute and wonderful read. I am rather surprised that the reviews on GoodReads are not all that.

For book blurb click Here

Windfall is a story of friendship, of family, and of love. It is emotional but it is not 'brake your heart' kind of emotional- if that makes any sense.
The book doesn't primarily focus on the romance that blooms between characters, but rather on their individual problems, on their pasts and present, and on the connection between them that is tested as the story evolves.
There aren't many books out there that focus on good family dynamics and on the beauty of it. It was wonderful reading Alice's and Leo's relationship. From the very beginning you get that they are more than just cousins, but in a way, siblings. One wouldn't want to live without the other.

Alice's character was great! There is so much depth to her. It is hard to believe this was a fast read stand alone as you recollect in your mind all you learnt about her in just a few pages. She is broken inside, slowly healing... it is beautiful to see her slowly realizing how much of her broken heart has already been healed without her even noticing it. She is not a mature, strong, and independent character. She is a 18 year old still learning what life is really about and what she wants to do with her own life. Everything about her felt very real.

As did everything with Teddy. What 18 year old boy, from a poor home, upon winning so much money wouldn't make the same mistakes he did? It was inevitable. He was rash, impulsive, and compared to Alice, rather childish. He had a lot to learn, and fast. Money changes people, young people perhaps even more so. But it also changes those around us. His story and struggles felt as real as Alice's.



A strong theme in the book is that of grief. And that was not an easy one for me. I don't believe most people will find it as emotional as I did, but it was hard going over here. Lesson?! Don't read a book where the character grieves the death of her parents on the anniversary of your own mothers passing! Not clever. On my defense, I had no idea that was a theme in the book.
Anyway...back to the book.... the topic was really well written. I related with Alice every step of the way.

Leo's story kind of runs on the background of Alice's and Teddy's. Although I didn't care much for it I will admit many of you would appreciate the way she portrayed his relationship with Max. She didn't make a big thing out of it, it was just another romance story within the larger story. His character felt rather flat to me though. But, I do like his relationship with Alice, how much they know each other and how well they understand each other.
Loved Loved Sawyer. And therefore strongly believe he deserved a better ending. As it was his character felt a tad superfluous.

All in all, a great contemporary romance. Not the best, that title is reserved to Nicola Yoon at the moment. But very very good too!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation