Skip to main content

October Wrap Up- 14 BoOkS ! ! !


- The Dazzling Heights by Katharine McGee
(YA- Futuristic Dystopia) 4.5/5 The sequel for The Thousandth Floor was just as good as the first book! The drama, the suspense and mystery, the romance... all of it was phenomenal. As in the first book the story both starts and ends with the death of one of the girls from the tower, adding to suspense. For the full review: Dazzling Heights

- Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo
(YA- Fantasy) 3.8/5 I finished this book uncertain on how to rate it. It left feeling good, light hearted... the same way the movie and comics did. There is something about superheroes (that being DC or Marvel) that just brings a smile to your face in the end. Makes you believe in a better world and in the best in people. Although that is a wonderful feeling, the first 200 pages of the book were boring and predictable. I did not enjoy it. All in all, a good enough book, just perhaps not worth the crazy high praises it has been receiving. Full review: Wonder Woman

- Evil by Tijan
(Paranormal Romance) 3.7/5 This took me completely by surprise. I had no idea going into it that it would be a paranormal romance. I have read a few books from her and they were all NA. Luckily for me fantasy/paranormal is the genre I read most, so all in all it was a fan surprise. I thought the story was well executed and considering this is not what she usually writes it worked out really well. It was a little slow at times, hence 4 stars. The story revolves around 4 siblings, all half human, half demons. For book blurb and review: GoodReads review

- Loving Bad and Surviving Slater by Regan Ure
(New Adult Romance) 4/5 and 3.5/5 Both books were good new adult romance books, book quick reads and with a heavy dosage of drama. Loving bad focuses on Taylor and Sin. Taylor is rather innocent and naive due to her upbringing and past difficulties and Sin is the exact opposite, there is nothing naive about him, but that is also due to his upbringing and past difficulties. Surviving Slater is about Sin's and Taylor's respective best friends Slater and Jordan. Both emotionally damaged. For full review: Loving Bad series

- The Young Elites by Marie Lu
(YA Fantasy) 4.75/5 Young Elites is the story of children who survive a deadly illness only to be left  strange markings. From different colored hair to scars that run deeper. Soon some of these kids figure out they also have special abilities, these kids come to be known as the Young Elites. Adelina, the main character is one of them. I loved her story. It was one of pain and hopelessness. And it was also a story of a girl trying to discover herself. I highly recommend it. Full review: Young Elites

- The Rose Society by Marie Lu (Young Elites II)
(YA Fantasy) 4/5 This started really well. I love our little Wolf. Watching her progress from the first book as a hurt and abused child to a woman betrayed by all she loved was an interesting ride. There were a few things that didn't sit well with me, but nonetheless the book was great and I highly recommend it. Full review: The Rose Society

- The Midnight Star by Marie Lu (Young Elites III)
(YA Fantasy) 5/5 No shadow of doubt the best book in the trilogy. Marie Lu can better be described as the Queen of book Endings. This was pure perfection. DO not dare not finishing this amazing trilogy. Full review: Midnight Star

- Beautiful Stranger by Christina Lauren  4.8/5
- Beautiful Beloved by Christina Lauren 4/5
- Beautiful Secret by Christina Lauren 5/5
(New Adult) Short review for all three available Here
I personally love the Beautiful Bastard Series. Each book is better than the previous. My favorite so far is Beautiful Secret, Neill (Max's brother- Beautiful Stranger)! After a divorce to the only woman he has ever been with he just doesn't know how to be around woman. It is both hilarious and adorable!

- The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo
(YA Fantasy) 3/5 The tales fall exactly half and half to me: 3 good ones, 3 bad ones. 
The illustrations in the book are AMAZING! I absolutely loved them. But the stories that go along with them missed the mark. Some by a lot, some by a little... They weren't bad, Leigh Bardugo's writing style is nothing but perfection, but the plot at times lacked. Full review: Language of Thorns

- Faking It by Lexy Timms
(New Adult Romance) 2/5 My least favorite NA in a while. Dane is caring and loving, the opposite of many rich male characters in NA, it was a nice change. Allyson is clever and strong minded. The main characters were wonderful, no complaints. But sadly the actual plot was not. Short review on my Goodreads account: Faking It- GR

- One Dark Throne
(YA Fantasy) 4/5 Just as good as the first book. It picks up where Three Dark Crowns left off and it evolves from there. Full review: One Dark Throne



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation