Skip to main content

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare- A million out of 5 stars!!!!


I have read this forever ago. It is my all-time favorite trilogy! But, because I only started my blog after I’ve read these wonderful books the review never made it here. It is time to change that!
Have you read the Infernal Devices yet? Because if you haven’t you most definitely should. It is, in my humble opinion, thousandth times better than Cassandra Clare’s other major series: The Mortal Instruments.

We start off with Clockwork Angel, year 1878, London.
Our main girl, and one of the best heroines ever written –Tessa Grey- ends up in London in search for her brother. It doesn’t take long before her path crosses that of Will and Jem, Shadowhunters at the London Institute (I’m guessing you all know what Shadowhunters are by now, but in case you are knew to Cassandra Clare’s work, Shadowhunters are Nephilims, in short - part angel beings that slay demons).
This dynamic trio finds themselves against a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks and humans.
The friendships created in this amazing trilogy is to me the most special aspect of the books. The parabotai bond between Will and Jem is more than just a magical connection. They trust and depend on each other like blood brothers would. Tessa’s appearance and even the romance does not distract from their friendship.
Have you wondered where this amazing and ever so famous quote comes from?
“One must always be careful of books," said Tessa, "and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”
Now you know!
The romance is phenomenal, not too cheesy, not overpowering. And for once, a love triangle is done well. I can be very picky about love triangles, but this was pure perfection from beginning to end.
Will is your ultimate sarcastic know it all boy with a heart of gold. His pain was my pain the whole way.
Jem….ah… what can I say about my Jem?! I’ve fallen for this boy fast and hard. He is sweet, caring, brave… I could go on and on! But, he is dying… his story will break your heart again and again.
And Tessa is our special snow flake, except that this time I don’t say that in a bad way. She may be our special little flower who all the boys love… but she is also super clever, brave, courageous and kind!

In Clockwork Prince, Tessa is firmly set at the institute with the boys. Her powers are still not completely understood though and when Charlotte’s position as the head of the institute is threaten, so is Tessa’s safety in the institute. With the help of our wonderful boys Will and Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s  plot against the Shadowhunters is personal.
As far as the romance goes, it is in this book that Tessa’s feelings start to become ‘complicated’. She longs for fierce Will but it also finding herself more and more drawn to sweet Jem. There are reasons for her to feel so deeply for both, they are both wonderful characters. But there are also good reasons for her not to give her heart to either of them, and she tries very hard not to. She understands how deep the love and friendship between these boys run and is not willing to hurt either of them. The book is intense and it will at some point or other make you cry. Trust me on that!
It is also in this book that we discover what makes Will be the way he is. His tragic past e bound to make you feel for him deeper than you already do.

Clockwork Princess brings this amazing trilogy to a conclusion! Something happens to Tessa… and needless to say both boys who lay equal claim to her heart and she to theirs will do anything to have Tessa safe and well.
I will stop here though, there is really not much I can say without giving away the plot for the whole thing by commenting on the third book.
Please read these series guys! It is truly THE BEST


Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation