Skip to main content

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo 3.5/5 stars

I love both Marvel and DC comics and movies. My brother got me into them on my late teens and I have been a die hard fan since then. And considering I am also a bookworm you can imagine my excitement when this book came out. 
If you are expecting a cheesy and predictable superhero story the last third of the book will not disappoint, sadly the built up to all the action felt a little flat. 

After reading much of Leigh Bardugo's work I find that although I love many of her books and characters, I also do not love many of them... There is none that I do not like, but there are some I am rather indifferent to. The first half of Wonder Woman sadly falls into the latter.
Here is the blurb:

Daughter of immortals.

Princess Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mortal. Diana will soon learn that she has rescued no ordinary girl, and that with this single brave act, she may have doomed the world.

Daughter of death.

Alia Keralis just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted by people who think her very existence could spark a world war. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together.

Two girls will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. Tested beyond the bounds of their abilities, Diana and Alia must find a way to unleash hidden strengths and forge an unlikely alliance. Because if they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.
 

The bad things: 
- It had a very poor beginning. It was slow and tedious for the first half. I had to stop a few times to find motivation.
- Wonder Woman was not the main character. Both Diana and Alia were. And that  could have been okay if Diana's side had been explored and explained well, but it wasn't. We are left knowing close to nothing about the Amazonas and their home.
- Alia and her friends: Alia came across a lot younger than 17 and rather dull-witted. As for her friends, Theo is possibly the worst character I've ever read from Leigh Bardugo: simple minded, boring, obnoxious... The often unimportant, childish, and silly banter between her friends wasn't as funny as she was probably trying to make it be. It was just stupid and laggard. 

The good things:
- once we have the first plot twist the story does pick up. The last 160 or so pages were a pleasure to read. Fast paced, action packed, and full of your usual cheesy comic stuff.
- Diana was everything you could expect Wonder Woman to be. Loyal, courageous, beautiful, strong. Leigh Bardugo gave this wonderful and very well loved character its due respect. 
- female friendships take center stage and I absolutely loved that. It is hard to find good female friendships in ya (I have recently read truthwitch for example and felt that the author completely failed there). Both the friendship between Nim and Alia, and Alia and Diana were beautifully written and portrayed. No bitching, no backstabbing... just solid female friendship. Thumbs up from me!
- the first plot twist- I did not see that coming! As predictable as most of the book was and as most of comics can be that plot twist was unexpected and  although his speeches got a little cheese it did not deter from the fact that it was a very good plot twist!

All in all not a bad book, but not amazing either. 





Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation