Skip to main content

Breaking Down by Megan Lowe [arc review]- 3 Stars

Breaking Down, Megan Lowe
Hello Sunnies 😎 I haven't been here for a week, I apologize. I am moving in 3 weeks and life is a little crazy... I will try to be better. Pinky swear! 

So...Do you guys like sport romances?
Breaking Down had me laughing out loud in my leaving room like a crazy person many times. It was a fun read and the romance was sweet; a perfect mixture of comedy and charm. If you are a fan of sports romance I am sure you will like it. 

Here is the Blurb:
When a hot BMX champion butts head with a woman who could kick his arse, it’s only a matter of time before the gloves are off and the heat is on.

What happens when the unexpected flips your world upside down?

That’s the question Jax Ryan must answer when everything he knows and loves is tipped on its head. Adjusting to his new reality is not easy. Throw in the woman of his dreams, who won’t even give him the time of day, and Jax is out of his element.

Bentley La Roche is tough. She’s a fighter, literally. In her spare time, she can be found with the best MMA fighters on the Gold Coast. But she’s guarded and has no interest in getting involved with anyone, especially Jax Ryan.

But when things go from bad to worse for Jax, Bentley’s walls are no match for her desire to help him. Breaking down is easy. It’s the rebuild that’s hard, but so much fun.

First we have Jax, a BMX rider that is really good at what he does. But the book starts with him suffering an accident and having to deal with his injuries. Jax was fun, easy going, while at the same time determined and strong in his convictions. The sort of guy that is cocky on the outside and a total softy on the inside too, I really liked him. And it was interesting reading about someone so independent having to deal with his fears. 
Bentley's character is resilient and has gone trough a lot in life but I can't say I enjoyed her character as much as I enjoyed his. Half of the time she came across as a grown up women trying to deal with her past while supporting the man she is falling for, which was wonderful... and the other half she just came across bitchy and rude. 

My favorite thing in the whole book? The cat. Yes, you read that right, the cat! 
All the scenes involving the darn cat were sweet and hilarious. 

I liked the book in the end, but it had a very rocky start. For the first few pages the story felt poorly written consisting mostly of only very short sentences. That kind of chopped writing always makes me anxious while reading it, it is uncomfortable. But if you can get over that and push through, great book! Go Read!


Find the book at:

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation