Skip to main content

The Bad Luck Bride by Janna MacGregor - 4 Stars


Can you tell I am in a bit of a romance kick this last month or so? 🤣
Don't worry sunnies, my pile of Young Adult Fantasy is still a lot larger than my romance pile, I will get back to it soon. 

In the meantime... Enjoy this beauty!
This was a sweet read. I really enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone that likes a good historical romance. Just don't confuse sweet with funny and light hearted, this is not it. It is heavy and even a tad somber. The romance is super sweet though!!!


The story is both complicated and simple.

Alex wants revenge for his sister's suicide. Claire just happens to be on the wrong place, or rather with the wrong person at the time. 
Alex was an interesting character. Although he is portrayed as a good man he is also portrayed as a lying, scheming, manipulative a** h***. And he truly has both those sides to him. Grief over the lost of his sister made him both.
Falling for his enemies fiance and than marrying her wasn't originally his plan. But once it is done he tries his best to be the best husband he can be. To protect her and care for her. Problem is, against his friend's warnings he does not tell Claire the circumstances that led to their wedding and needless to say things don't end well when she finds out.
He was a multidimensional character and I felt we got to know him really well.
Claire was a tad too passive for me. The whole curse thing was just a matter of 'bad timing' and 'bad luck'. I get it, its a historical romance. That much bad luck in engagements all the way back when would have people calling it a curse, I like that actually, it is entertaining. I just wan't sold on Claire using that as an excuse for everything that went wrong in her life and not fighting it.

Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation