Skip to main content

Cavalier (Crimson Elite #1) by T.L. Smith

*adult content*
Have you ever read the Blurb for an upcoming book, fell in love with it, than read the book and didn't quite understand how the author came up with that blurb? That is how I feel right now. it was a good book, but I feel cheated. I expected something else...
Cavalier, TL Smith
The Blurb:
Welcome to Crimson Elite, the most exclusive sex club in the world. 
Enter at your own risk, and always remember our number one rule— 
You must never speak of Crimson Elite—the punishment is severe. 

Creed ‘Too Hot for Words’ Christopher 

If God created the perfect man he would closely resemble Creed, on the outside that is. 
He’s as cavalier as they come. Unconcerned. Cold. Dismissive. I wonder if he has any feelings at all. 
And when his lips touch mine, everything goes black. He takes me into his world, and it’s the most magical thing I’ve ever experienced. 
And I’m sucked in time and time again. 
Like a moth to the flame, I am ready to be set alight. 

Elicea ‘F*cks With My Head’ Beckham 

Elicea is a firecracker. She has piqued my interest, and no one piques my interest anymore. 
Beautiful women are what I do—it’s my work. 
Not one of them has managed to get their claws into me the way she does. It’s as if she’s seeing my icy heart and trying to melt it, set it alight with each touch of her sinful lips. 
But that can’t work, it won’t work. 
Not in my world. 


2.5 Stars

I did like the book, but the blurb was far from accurate, and because of that it did not deliver. The book was about a boss falling for his new employee at a bar. We never really get to know much about the club itself. Also, Creed is not as cold and detached as the blurb makes him sound. During the whole book his friends talk about how obvious it is he has feelings for Elicea.
Let's not forget the blurb makes the book sound really intense and hot, but the intimate scenes are kind of boring. That is fine for a contemporary romance book, but that is not what the blurb  or author advertises the book as. If you go read the ads it suggests the book is dark and risque. It is NOT. Yah ok, there is one violent scene, but that not a dark romance makes....

Anyway... the book is an angsty contemporary romance. And as far as contemporary romance goes it was actually really good. Creed is a serious and quiet guy that for the first time ever has feelings for a girl and doesn't know what to do about it, and she is... well... there is really nothing that special about her. Just a girl needing a job and than getting one with a very very hot guy. 

To start they had zero chemistry. They are attracted to each other but I wasn't feeling it at all. It gets better as the story progresses though. Their relationship was a game of ping-pong with neither admitting how they feel and with one of them always ignoring the other. 
The secondary characters, which I am assuming will be the main characters in the other books made it a fun read, they were all well written and had interesting personalities. 

I know I sound rather negative, but I would not have given the book a 2.5 stars if I hadn't like it. I did. It just wasn't what I was promised and the relationship- the most important part- at times fell flat.

Find the book at:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation