Skip to main content

Rock Rebel (Nothing But Trouble #3) by Tara Leigh [arc review]

I have a soft spot for Rock Star Romances. Stage Dive by Kylie Scott and Sixth Street Band Series by Jayne Frost are some of my favorite contemporary romances. So needless to say when the author Tara Leigh told me I could sign up to read this arc I jumped at the opportunity. And now I have another Rock Star Romance book to love... Rock Rebel is the third book in the series, and although I have not yet read the other two it didn't impact the story in a bad way. Much the contrary, I am dying of curiosity about the other boys and must read the previous books! 


Rock Rebel, Tara Leigh. Pic by @glimpses_of_my_books
The blurb:
He's a rock star with a secret; she's a pop princess with a painful past, can their forbidden romance survive, or will their lies destroy them both?

I've earned my bad reputation.

A few years ago, I was New York City's hottest classical music prodigy. But I wanted something else, something more. So I chased my real dream, and now... I'm rock royalty. Dax Hughes, lead guitarist of Nothing but Trouble. But to my family and former Juilliard classmates, I'm an outcast. A misfit. A rebel.

They're not entirely wrong. I don't give a damn what other people think, and I'm all for breaking the rules... except when it comes to our new opening act, Verity Moore.

Rock gods don't tour with pop princesses.

It's not personal. Actually, under that fallen diva reputation, Verity's incredibly talented. And her fiery redheaded personality is... intriguing. But I'm convinced the skeletons in Verity's closet are as scandalous as my own, and when we're not sparring, she has a way of drawing out all those secrets I'm determined to keep hidden.

Yeah. Verity Moore is definitely off-limits . . .
But since when do I give a damn about the rules?


3.8 Stars


Rock Rebel was a very captivating story. Verity and Dax had my attention from beginning to end. 
Verity was a flawed character, but also someone that was wronged in life and is trying to built her life back up again. 
Dax is also a flawed character, and I think that is why those two fit together so perfectly. Verity makes him want to move on from his past and choose happiness again. 
I genuinely liked the book, and as I said I will be reading the others. The main characters had chemistry, understood each other and cared for each other deeply. The side characters were phenomenal and I can't wait to read their stories too.
The book was however a little slow at times, which always makes me drop a few points.
The other reason for it not being a 5 star read is that I like my books to be a escape from the real world and this was obviously written with the #metoo  movement in mind. It was well done and I appreciate both the movement and what the author tried to do here, it is just not my personal preference to mix fiction with the real world. Liking to admit it or not, when that happens I often 'zone out' in the middle of the story and don't connect to the characters as much.



Find the book at:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation