Skip to main content

A Cowboy for Alyssa (Burlap And Barbed Wire #1) by Shirley Penick

Don't you just love discovering new authors? It is even better when you absolutely love the book and you know you will be meeting them soon. And this is just the case here :)


Blurb:

Alyssa Jefferson is ready to start her veterinary internship at the Rockin' K ranch, in the beautiful Colorado Rockies, where she will be assisting with the births of over three hundred pregnant cows. It’s a dream come true, and she’s so excited the joy is oozing from her. As icing on the cake, it appears the brothers that own the ranch are sexy as can be. A few months with some eye candy, is just what the doctor ordered. 

Beau Kipling sees the sweet young thing coming for her riding lesson, and feels a kick to his gut. What is this hot young woman doing dating a man old enough to be her father? He’s so ticked off, he can’t stop himself from being an ass to her. He’s never, in his whole life, felt the instant attraction he feels for this female, and she’s some old guys arm candy. 

When the truth is revealed, that Alyssa is his intern for the spring, and not the sheriff’s new girlfriend, Beau knows he’s blown it. And he can’t even explain why he was so mean. No woman wants to hear a guy thought she was a gold digger. Now they must work together all spring. Can he convince her to give him a second chance?

The Review: 5 Stars

Who knew I would fall in love with cowboy romances this year? It has been a wonderful journey and I am glad to add Shirley Penick's books to my list of beloved books. She is a great writer.
The writing was spectacular, from grammar to the way the story flowed. It had a smooth and steady pace, a comfortable and somewhat fast read that will touch you, make you laugh, and make you swoon.

Alyssa is as beautiful as she is intelligent. To bad for Beau he confused her with someone else when they met and their relationship didn't start in the best way.
Beau similarly is very intelligent and dedicated to his family and what he does.
His family, from bothers to his grandpa were all a pleasure to get to know. I haven't checked, but I really hope the next books focuses on his brothers.

Even though Beau and Alyssa pretty much fell in love at first sight (or at least Beau did) their relationship built up slowly. I rather appreciated they got to know each other before anything actually happened.

The book had humor, a little bit of angst, a little bit of suspense... Not enough to distract from the romance but enough to make the story wholesome.

Can't recommend this enough.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.