Skip to main content

A Cowboy for Alyssa (Burlap And Barbed Wire #1) by Shirley Penick

Don't you just love discovering new authors? It is even better when you absolutely love the book and you know you will be meeting them soon. And this is just the case here :)


Blurb:

Alyssa Jefferson is ready to start her veterinary internship at the Rockin' K ranch, in the beautiful Colorado Rockies, where she will be assisting with the births of over three hundred pregnant cows. It’s a dream come true, and she’s so excited the joy is oozing from her. As icing on the cake, it appears the brothers that own the ranch are sexy as can be. A few months with some eye candy, is just what the doctor ordered. 

Beau Kipling sees the sweet young thing coming for her riding lesson, and feels a kick to his gut. What is this hot young woman doing dating a man old enough to be her father? He’s so ticked off, he can’t stop himself from being an ass to her. He’s never, in his whole life, felt the instant attraction he feels for this female, and she’s some old guys arm candy. 

When the truth is revealed, that Alyssa is his intern for the spring, and not the sheriff’s new girlfriend, Beau knows he’s blown it. And he can’t even explain why he was so mean. No woman wants to hear a guy thought she was a gold digger. Now they must work together all spring. Can he convince her to give him a second chance?

The Review: 5 Stars

Who knew I would fall in love with cowboy romances this year? It has been a wonderful journey and I am glad to add Shirley Penick's books to my list of beloved books. She is a great writer.
The writing was spectacular, from grammar to the way the story flowed. It had a smooth and steady pace, a comfortable and somewhat fast read that will touch you, make you laugh, and make you swoon.

Alyssa is as beautiful as she is intelligent. To bad for Beau he confused her with someone else when they met and their relationship didn't start in the best way.
Beau similarly is very intelligent and dedicated to his family and what he does.
His family, from bothers to his grandpa were all a pleasure to get to know. I haven't checked, but I really hope the next books focuses on his brothers.

Even though Beau and Alyssa pretty much fell in love at first sight (or at least Beau did) their relationship built up slowly. I rather appreciated they got to know each other before anything actually happened.

The book had humor, a little bit of angst, a little bit of suspense... Not enough to distract from the romance but enough to make the story wholesome.

Can't recommend this enough.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation