Skip to main content

Maybe This Time by Kasie West, Ana Isabel (Narrator) [arc review]

I haven't read an Young Adult Romance in a very long time, and considering how picky I am with it, this one was surprisingly good!

Blurb:
One year. Nine events. Nine chances to . . . fall in love?

Weddings. Funerals. Barbecues. New Year's Eve parties. Name the occasion, and Sophie Evans will be there. Well, she has to be there. Sophie works for the local florist, so she can be found at every big event in her small hometown, arranging bouquets and managing family dramas.

Enter Andrew Hart. The son of the fancy new chef in town, Andrew is suddenly required to attend all the same events as Sophie. Entitled, arrogant, preppy Andrew. Sophie just wants to get her job done and finish up her sketches so she can apply to design school. But every time she turns around, there is Andrew, getting in her way and making her life more complicated. Until one day she wonders if maybe complicated isn't so bad after all . . .

Told over the course of one year and following Sophie from event to event, this delightful novel from master of romantic comedy Kasie West shows how love can blossom in unexpected places.
 


The Review: 3 Stars

Although I liked many things about this book, I think it is time to officially 'throw the hat' on Young Adult Contemporary Romance books. There is never enough passion and chemistry on them for me.It was good, really good even, but the whole time there was 'something' missing. 

The things I liked: 
I love a good hate to love trope and this was hate to love at its best. Sophie really didn't like Andrew for a good part of the book. Their bickering -at least to start- was entertaining. 
The secondary characters, specially Sophie's best friends were all well written. I wouldn't even mind if they got their own books someday. At times, they were almost more interesting than the main characters but never in a way that distracted from the main plot.
The writing itself and the work of the narrator was brilliant. Kasie West is no shadow of doubt a talented writer and Ana Isabel is a great narrator. 
My favorite part is how along it took their relationship to develop. They had a whole year to get to know each other and it made the feelings that grew between them more believable. 

The things I didn't like:
Honestly there was only one: the bickering that was entertaining in the beginning of the book became tedious and obnoxious after a while. It went from true hatred to teenage tantrums. I suppose that if I didn't have a pre-teen at home that acts similarly it wouldn't annoy me as much, but as is it kind of drove me mad.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b