Skip to main content

Maybe This Time by Kasie West, Ana Isabel (Narrator) [arc review]

I haven't read an Young Adult Romance in a very long time, and considering how picky I am with it, this one was surprisingly good!

Blurb:
One year. Nine events. Nine chances to . . . fall in love?

Weddings. Funerals. Barbecues. New Year's Eve parties. Name the occasion, and Sophie Evans will be there. Well, she has to be there. Sophie works for the local florist, so she can be found at every big event in her small hometown, arranging bouquets and managing family dramas.

Enter Andrew Hart. The son of the fancy new chef in town, Andrew is suddenly required to attend all the same events as Sophie. Entitled, arrogant, preppy Andrew. Sophie just wants to get her job done and finish up her sketches so she can apply to design school. But every time she turns around, there is Andrew, getting in her way and making her life more complicated. Until one day she wonders if maybe complicated isn't so bad after all . . .

Told over the course of one year and following Sophie from event to event, this delightful novel from master of romantic comedy Kasie West shows how love can blossom in unexpected places.
 


The Review: 3 Stars

Although I liked many things about this book, I think it is time to officially 'throw the hat' on Young Adult Contemporary Romance books. There is never enough passion and chemistry on them for me.It was good, really good even, but the whole time there was 'something' missing. 

The things I liked: 
I love a good hate to love trope and this was hate to love at its best. Sophie really didn't like Andrew for a good part of the book. Their bickering -at least to start- was entertaining. 
The secondary characters, specially Sophie's best friends were all well written. I wouldn't even mind if they got their own books someday. At times, they were almost more interesting than the main characters but never in a way that distracted from the main plot.
The writing itself and the work of the narrator was brilliant. Kasie West is no shadow of doubt a talented writer and Ana Isabel is a great narrator. 
My favorite part is how along it took their relationship to develop. They had a whole year to get to know each other and it made the feelings that grew between them more believable. 

The things I didn't like:
Honestly there was only one: the bickering that was entertaining in the beginning of the book became tedious and obnoxious after a while. It went from true hatred to teenage tantrums. I suppose that if I didn't have a pre-teen at home that acts similarly it wouldn't annoy me as much, but as is it kind of drove me mad.

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.