Skip to main content

Cinder (4 stars) and Scarlet (5 stars) - Lunar Chronicles

I have finally started reading the Lunar Chronicles! And I am loving it.

Cinder started a little slow for me. I didn't like it at first all that much, but as the story progressed I became more intrigued and fascinated by it.
It is a wonderful re-telling of Cinderella. Beautifully written with some awesome sci-fi elements to it. At times a tad predictable, but I guess being a modern re-telling of a classic that comes with the territory. That being said, about half way through the story became engaging enough that I was no longer concerned about it.
Cinder is a mechanic, a cyborg! One of her hands and feet are metal. She has a step-mum and a sister that does not appreciate her and a sister she is friends with. So not exactly like that classic ;)
She is not your usual heroin, being a cyborg limits what she can do as she not the owner of her own body. She belongs to her step-mum. But she feisty and determined to change her faith. If she just knew by how much ....
Prince Kai is ok. A little too weak of a character. I am not in love with him at all.
My favorite character is Iko, Cinder's android! She is so funny, clever, entertaining! All honesty, she is a better character than Cinder and Kai combined! hehe

Although I liked Cinder enough, I perfectly understand why it gets mixed reviews. Its good, but the main characters aren't that strong.
Scarlet is a much better book than Cinder!
It is a lot more dynamic, there is a lot more happening and the new characters have a lot more depth to them!
I still don't think much of Kai. But, even though we didn't get much of him here, he does comes across a little stronger and more mature.
Cinder is, if anything, even weaker of a character. I just kept waiting for her to get grips with reality and toughen up the whole book. Never happened!

Scarlet and Wolf however are amazing characters!  And the way their stories (Scarlet's and Cinder's) cross paths is genius!
Scarlet is a fabulous heroin! Fierce, strong minded, feisty in every way.
And Wolf... oh Wolf... I love and adore him! He is such a wonderful character, Both strong, violent and dangerous while at the same time a pure softy!
Their story is not as predictable as cinder's was, which was great! I read this a lot faster and found it incredibly difficult to put down. There were a few wonderful plot twists that kept your imagination and interesting on check!

I highly recommend you read this two books!
As soon as I finish with the series I will have the review on  the other two books up!

Have a wonderful day and Go Read!



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation