Skip to main content

Hush Hush - 4.75 out of 5

This was great! I truly enjoy it!
I just saw however that there are a lot of bad/low reviews for this book on GoodReads. So let me be clear: I love it and I am not ashamed to say it! haha
Seriously, I feel towards this book similarly to how I felt towards the Fallen series, they have the same 'fallen angel' theme, the same bad rep on GoodReads, the same easy to read ya story line... If you liked Fallen (I LOVED it), you will like at Hush Hush (it is also somewhat similar to twilight. Another series that gets mix reviews).
I have only read the first book at his point, so I can't say if the rest of the series leaves up to it or not, but the first book was good enough for me.

Plot (according to GoodReads); "Romance was not part of Nora Grey's plan. She is never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws her to him against her better judgment.
But after a series of terrified encounters, Nora's not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friend. She can't decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel."

Patch is  a great character. I was only a few pages in and I was already laughing. Patch talking about hitting on girls in class... trust me, you will laugh! Its adorable and its funny!
My favorite quote? "keep in mind that people change, but the past doesn't" How true is that?! :)
Nora is ok. Not the best female character out there. Not the worst either.
Vee is stupid! Don't get her character. Don't like her character.

The plot wasn't complicated and full of diverse story lines (lets leave that mastery to Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Maas!).
It was fun, funny, sweet, a few scary scenes that were never that scary, a tad random. It has flaws, but none that bothered me too much.

The best part? The ending! Go read! :)

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.