Skip to main content

The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E Pearson- 4.5 out of 5

I have read this series a while back now, I really liked it, even though the ending was not what I wanted. I am that reader that often gets frustrated with endings, that is always rooting for the bad boy, the least unlikely to be with the girl in the end. The same was true here!
I highly recommend this series!

 The Kiss of Deception:
This was such a captivating read! My very first by this amazing author.
The main character, Lia, has a strong willed, fierce and enticing personality. It is hard not to like her and it is hard not to sympathize with a character that wants so little: free will!
One of my favorite things is the strong friendship theme that runs trough the book (and also through the rest of the series).
The boys, the prince and the assassin got me very confused at first, I didn't know who was who, but I am guessing that was somehow intentional. It made it interesting and fun.
I loved Kaden! From begging to end. My favorite character no doubt!
Although the books talk about magic, there is very little of it in the book. I got the feeling the author was setting it all up for the next book. Now that I've read all books though I am not sure that was the case. There isn't that much of magic and supernatural tones in any of the books, it is rather a background thought. 'Where is the magic?' was a recurring though. Why mention it if you are not going to use it?
The plot twist towards the end is easily guessed ahead, but it somehow doesn't spoil the last chapters. There is still enough to keep one entertained.

 The Heart of Betrayal
It was good, but not amazing. Often the second book on trilogies is not as good as the rest of them and that is sadly the truth here. I am not saying don't read it, do! The series is very very good and I might even re-read someday, just have in mind that the second book will not be as good as the first and third.
It was a good story, but slow, very slow. A lot of romance and not enough of anything else.
I don't know about you, but if I want romance I go read romance. When I pick up a YA or fantasy and supernatural book, I want that to be the main things. I want romance too, I am a girl after all, but I don't want that to override everything else. Like I sad on the first book, where is the magic?



The Beauty of Darkness
Now we talking! My favorite book in this trilogy!
The Beauty of Darkness had me on the edge of my seat the whole way through, beginning to end.
The bravery and love shared between ALL the characters was breathtaking and heartbreaking!
I was glad to see the friendships continue and develop from the first book here. Lia is one of the bravest book heroines out there and her friendship with Pauline is truly remarkable and beautiful.
The ending was good. Not what I wanted, but probably what every reader wants... I like to be different! haha
That being said, I have come to love the characters so much, specially in this book that even though the ending was not what I would like it to be, I still loved it!

Go Read!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation