Skip to main content

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson- 4.9/5

This was AdOrAbLe!

Our main female character is Isobel, she is an artist, a painter!- needless to say I was sold at that point already- Every detail and description of Isobel's work was accurate and beautifully written.
She paints portraits for the fair folk, since they cannot. The fair folk cannot do anything considered craft- painting, cooking, dress making...
She is amazing at what she does and has managed to protect  and support herself and her family through it. There is even a rather powerful protection spell in her house put there as payment by one of her most frequent patrons- Gadfly. He is charming and I really liked him. I figured out what he was up to about two thirds in the book and I think you will too. But that didn't make the story any less interesting.

One day our other main character pays Isobel a visit. Rook, the Autumn Prince. Faeries don't have emotions, or at least are not meant too. Love perhaps, but that is rare. But Isobel sees sorrow in his eyes and puts that into her painting. When the painting is revealed in the autumn court that causes Rook a lot of problems, it could even cost his life. Because you see, human emotions are considered a weakness for the fair folk and a prince cannot be weak. He drags Isobel from her home to face trial for her crime! And here our story begins...

Rook is Adorable! He is proud and a little self obsessed, but in a child like manner. I just giggled every time he said something self serving. He may be a prince -and like reminding Isobel of that all the time- but he is clueless to human emotions and behavior. Some of his comments and questions are just too freaking cute and funny. If you have a thing for precious sweet characters, you will like him. I usually like the bad boys, but every now and then I find a sweet one impossible not to love, he is one of them!

I loved how the relationship between Isobel and Rook progressed. At first I thought we would suffer from the 'insta-love' curse. Although it looked that way to start it righted itself as the story went on. I loved how impossible it was for him to hide his feelings and how blind she was to her own. It was cute.

The side characters were also great fun. Starting with Gadfly, who I already mentioned. 
We also have a fun miss-behaved set of twins. A protective loving aunt. And a few fair folk from Gadfly's court that are just hilarious.

The only reason I am keeping that fraction of a point back when scoring the book is that is was a tab predictable. A lot remained a surprise till the end, but there were a few things that were obvious. 

Beyond the review:
Here is something I do not understand: Why is this being compared to A Court of Thorns and Roses? Have people gone mad? Acotar is, to start, a New Adult Novel. No YA can be that 'explicit'. An Enchantment of Ravens is most certainly Young Adult. I understand that most of Sarah Maas fans are young adult lovers but you can just choose what genre to call a book because of your personal preferences. Can you imagine acotar in a school library in the teen and/or section? How many parents you think would go mad at that? plenty!
Second, Acotar is intense. It has a lot of depth and a rather complicated world. An Enchantment of Ravens is an easy read. It has an amazing world built into it but its not overly complicated. Not much more can be built from it either. And the kind of intensity found here is very different from acotar. It is fun and light hearted even at the most precarious scenes. Can you really call any of the intense scenes in acotar light hearted?
Sorry for the rant guys... I love acotar and I really enjoyed this book too, but the comparison is just wrong. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation