Skip to main content

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson- 4.9/5

This was AdOrAbLe!

Our main female character is Isobel, she is an artist, a painter!- needless to say I was sold at that point already- Every detail and description of Isobel's work was accurate and beautifully written.
She paints portraits for the fair folk, since they cannot. The fair folk cannot do anything considered craft- painting, cooking, dress making...
She is amazing at what she does and has managed to protect  and support herself and her family through it. There is even a rather powerful protection spell in her house put there as payment by one of her most frequent patrons- Gadfly. He is charming and I really liked him. I figured out what he was up to about two thirds in the book and I think you will too. But that didn't make the story any less interesting.

One day our other main character pays Isobel a visit. Rook, the Autumn Prince. Faeries don't have emotions, or at least are not meant too. Love perhaps, but that is rare. But Isobel sees sorrow in his eyes and puts that into her painting. When the painting is revealed in the autumn court that causes Rook a lot of problems, it could even cost his life. Because you see, human emotions are considered a weakness for the fair folk and a prince cannot be weak. He drags Isobel from her home to face trial for her crime! And here our story begins...

Rook is Adorable! He is proud and a little self obsessed, but in a child like manner. I just giggled every time he said something self serving. He may be a prince -and like reminding Isobel of that all the time- but he is clueless to human emotions and behavior. Some of his comments and questions are just too freaking cute and funny. If you have a thing for precious sweet characters, you will like him. I usually like the bad boys, but every now and then I find a sweet one impossible not to love, he is one of them!

I loved how the relationship between Isobel and Rook progressed. At first I thought we would suffer from the 'insta-love' curse. Although it looked that way to start it righted itself as the story went on. I loved how impossible it was for him to hide his feelings and how blind she was to her own. It was cute.

The side characters were also great fun. Starting with Gadfly, who I already mentioned. 
We also have a fun miss-behaved set of twins. A protective loving aunt. And a few fair folk from Gadfly's court that are just hilarious.

The only reason I am keeping that fraction of a point back when scoring the book is that is was a tab predictable. A lot remained a surprise till the end, but there were a few things that were obvious. 

Beyond the review:
Here is something I do not understand: Why is this being compared to A Court of Thorns and Roses? Have people gone mad? Acotar is, to start, a New Adult Novel. No YA can be that 'explicit'. An Enchantment of Ravens is most certainly Young Adult. I understand that most of Sarah Maas fans are young adult lovers but you can just choose what genre to call a book because of your personal preferences. Can you imagine acotar in a school library in the teen and/or section? How many parents you think would go mad at that? plenty!
Second, Acotar is intense. It has a lot of depth and a rather complicated world. An Enchantment of Ravens is an easy read. It has an amazing world built into it but its not overly complicated. Not much more can be built from it either. And the kind of intensity found here is very different from acotar. It is fun and light hearted even at the most precarious scenes. Can you really call any of the intense scenes in acotar light hearted?
Sorry for the rant guys... I love acotar and I really enjoyed this book too, but the comparison is just wrong. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.