Skip to main content

FireBlood by Elly Blake 5/5 Stars

Can someone please explain to me why this book is not better known? I loved every single page. FireBlood was even better than the FrostBlood!

I was worried going into it that there would be a love triangle. I LOVED Arcus and Ruby, they are perfect for each other. The romance was superb in FrostBlood - at least as far as ya fantasies go, so I was petrified of the prospect of a love triangle. 
Obviously I am not going to tell you exactly what happens, but...

Does Ruby gets rather close to Kai? Yes, that is obvious by the book blurb. But by the time she does two things will have happened already: 
One, you will feel her loneliness in the Frost Court and understand her need and desire to have friends, to have people that are like her and that understand her. Arcus loves her and she loves him, but he is the King of a court that hates her, that is afraid of her, and that treats her rather poorly because of it. 
And second, you will love Kai! You will still miss Arcus and want Ruby and Arcus to end together, but you will not at any point dislike him. He is funny, sweet, full of himself in a rather charming way, loyal to our Ruby, and most importantly- her friend. 

There is romance in FireBlood, plenty of it. But the book is more about Ruby finding herself, learning to deal with her abilities, learning who her true family is (or was), and finding and destroying the Mimax.

Once again the world and character building were phenomenal! All the magic had purpose and a background to it. All characters made sense. So often in ya fantasies the reader is just thrown in a magical world and expected to just accept that not everything makes sense. That is not the case here. I absolutely loved the tales that explained the magical beings in the book. So very clever!

Sudesia is just as interesting as Tempesia. The kingdoms are at first glance completely different. But eventually you realize that fire and frost are not at all that different. 
The new characters are very likable. The Queen of Sudesia and her husband Prince Eiko are not what you would expect and you are likely to grow to like them. Specially Prince Eiko. I kept thinking there was something more to him, something I was missing... but in the end, he was just a genuine character. I love the simplicity of Elly Blake's characters. The world in which the story is set and its magic may be complex but the characters are rather straight forward. And in a way, because of that, a lot more realistic and relatable.

There were a few plot twists. And only one that I saw coming a mile away. 
All in all, another easy read by the fabulous Elly Blake! 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation