Skip to main content

FireBlood by Elly Blake 5/5 Stars

Can someone please explain to me why this book is not better known? I loved every single page. FireBlood was even better than the FrostBlood!

I was worried going into it that there would be a love triangle. I LOVED Arcus and Ruby, they are perfect for each other. The romance was superb in FrostBlood - at least as far as ya fantasies go, so I was petrified of the prospect of a love triangle. 
Obviously I am not going to tell you exactly what happens, but...

Does Ruby gets rather close to Kai? Yes, that is obvious by the book blurb. But by the time she does two things will have happened already: 
One, you will feel her loneliness in the Frost Court and understand her need and desire to have friends, to have people that are like her and that understand her. Arcus loves her and she loves him, but he is the King of a court that hates her, that is afraid of her, and that treats her rather poorly because of it. 
And second, you will love Kai! You will still miss Arcus and want Ruby and Arcus to end together, but you will not at any point dislike him. He is funny, sweet, full of himself in a rather charming way, loyal to our Ruby, and most importantly- her friend. 

There is romance in FireBlood, plenty of it. But the book is more about Ruby finding herself, learning to deal with her abilities, learning who her true family is (or was), and finding and destroying the Mimax.

Once again the world and character building were phenomenal! All the magic had purpose and a background to it. All characters made sense. So often in ya fantasies the reader is just thrown in a magical world and expected to just accept that not everything makes sense. That is not the case here. I absolutely loved the tales that explained the magical beings in the book. So very clever!

Sudesia is just as interesting as Tempesia. The kingdoms are at first glance completely different. But eventually you realize that fire and frost are not at all that different. 
The new characters are very likable. The Queen of Sudesia and her husband Prince Eiko are not what you would expect and you are likely to grow to like them. Specially Prince Eiko. I kept thinking there was something more to him, something I was missing... but in the end, he was just a genuine character. I love the simplicity of Elly Blake's characters. The world in which the story is set and its magic may be complex but the characters are rather straight forward. And in a way, because of that, a lot more realistic and relatable.

There were a few plot twists. And only one that I saw coming a mile away. 
All in all, another easy read by the fabulous Elly Blake! 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.