Skip to main content

Breaking Matt by Regan Ure- 3/5 Stars

I love Matt! I fell for him in Loving Bad, needed more of him in Surviving Slater, and was very much looking forward to a book on him. 
I think that if you read this as a standalone, not because you want more of Matt, you will rate it higher than I did. It was a very good New Adult book. 

The main character in the book is not Matt though, and there lies the problem for me, a Matt fan... Towards the end of the book you know as much about him as you knew in the beginning. He is a tough bodyguard with a heart of gold... even though towards the end she kind of writes him a little mean. I get it though, who wouldn't on his shoes?

The main character is Sarah. She is a spoiled rich girl who does't believe in love and will pretty much use boys to satisfy her needs. Her internal monologues through out the book for the most part drove me nuts. It is only towards the end, when she is miserable, that I start to like her. Maybe because she is miserable? I am heartless like that 🤣 

The story goes more or less like so (spoiler free): Sarah's dad is a powerful man with many enemies. One of them is proving to be a real treat. He hires bodyguards to watch over his daughter. Matt gets closer to her but doesn't tell her he is a bodyguard (since she refuses to have one). Things spiral out of control from there, both in their relationship and on the threats over her life.

I personally needed Breaking Matt to focus on Matt as much as it did on Sarah and not mostly on Sarah. I like strong male character presence in my romance books.
Another thing that this book was missing for me was a stronger connection to the previous books. My favorite thing about Surviving Slater (review here) was how well it incorporated the characters from the first book. Here the characters from the first book are mentioned once than never again, and the characters from the second book not at all. That sadden me.

All in all though it was a fab book, I am just giving it a hard time because I wanted more of Matt. 




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation